Aviston Performing Arts Classes

Looking for private in-home or online classes? Our Aviston teachers are ready to get you started. Find your teacher today!

Featured On

How it Works

From finding the perfect teacher to managing payments, scheduling and tracking your progress, we take care of all the details, so you can focus on learning. Learn More

Search for a teacher

Compare hundreds of teachers based on the criteria that matter to you, including background checks, age and experience.

Schedule your lessons

When you've found the perfect match, schedule your lessons online using the teacher's real-time availability.

Connect with your teacher

Your teacher will welcome you with a personalized curriculum to meet your specific goals and you'll be able to manage your entire schedule through our free online account.

Can't find a teacher in Aviston?

No problem. Our online lesson platform connects you with any teacher, anywhere. All you need is a reliable Internet connection, a webcam and a microphone.

Convenient

Zero travel time is great for a busy schedule.

Affordable

Typically priced lower than local lessons.

Effective

Online students stick with lessons as long as local students.

Learn More

Performing Arts Lesson Reviews from Students

Students are raving about their Performing Arts instructors on TakeLessons. Check out some of these recent reviews.

And they're not alone!

Our teachers have taught

2 , 2 3 4 , 0 4 5

lessons and counting!

Popular Performing Arts Teachers near Aviston

Check out some of our most popular teachers near Aviston including Germantown, Trenton, Breese, Albers and Summerfield.

Showing 8 of 200+ results View More

About Francis R.

Close
Profile_325898_982mw7d7kg768lkg43c3
San Diego, CA

View Full Profile
About Francis
Hi everyone! I'm a hard-working musician with a background in live performance, songwriting, composition, and home recording. I want to help you perform the music you love, whether you're playing to your family, your webcam, or a 15,000 seat arena. I have been teaching private music lessons since 2007.

I am a graduate of UCSD, where I completed my bachelor's degree in music theory and composition. I have taken years of private lessons, played bass, guitar, and mandolin in local and touring bands, and my music has been featured on at least 7 albums. I want to make your goals accessible, and I want to help you find your sound.

*** Lesson Details ***
I focus on making lessons fun for my students. I emphasize the importance of practicing on your own and building confidence by performing live and/or writing your own songs. I love to hel
p people get better at sounding like themselves.

During lessons from me, you can expect to play, sing, clap your hands, and become completely immersed in the music you love. Whether your goal is to perform in front of an audience, record albums, or just play for fun in your living room, I'll help you make that happen.

*** Studio Equipment ***
Music room, seating available, street parking.

*** Travel Equipment ***
I only teach students who provide their own instrument. I am willing to provide a loaner guitar for the week if a student's instrument needs to be repaired or is not accessible for any reason. I also provide homework when necessary :)

*** Specialties ***
I specialize in teaching confidence in performance practices, technique, singing and playing, and good microphone habits for singing, speaking, recording, and songwriting. I teach based on student needs, and I find each student benefits from a different curriculum.
...
Reviews
Thumb_54047_pi_20140726_232533
Richard C. November 12, 2017
· Bass Guitar · In home
Francis is a fantastic teacher. He is patient, extremely knowledgeable, and fun to work with, a rare combination. I joined a friend’s rock band and needed to learn how to play the bass guitar fast. I had never even played guitar before. Francis taught me the basics and got me competent on the songs we were learning. He even helped me with my singing. I now do backup and even lead on a few songs. Francis had a music degree from UCSD and can make learning as simple or as complicated as you want to make it. He also teaches music at an alternative High School. He is very flexible and a very nice person to be around. I highly recommend Francis!
Silhouette-80
David B. July 20, 2017
· Singing · In home
Very personable, very talented, and very patient. Great first lesson!
Silhouette-80
Kimberly July 10, 2017
· Ukulele · In home
Francis is a great instructor! He is patient and knowledgeable and takes the time to explain things. He is also super laid back and friendly and will customize lessons based on current level. I would definitely recommend him!
View Details
View Profile
Francis R.

Francis R.

Online
(15)
starting at
$30 / 30-min

About Catherine B.

Close
253745_bkwlkrd6wjzh8wkg88wt
Greenville, IL
View Full Profile
About Catherine
ALREADY BACKGROUND CHECKED PIANIST/MUSIC EDUCATOR
Areas of strength: accompanying or collaborative piano, performance, pedagogy, clarinet performance and pedagogy. music ministry, vocal coaching, ear training and sight reading

Over 15 years in music performance and music education. Extensive multicultural and international performance, instruction and public relations activities. Additional credentials in popular/jazz voice, keyboards, beginning guitar and clarinet. Expertise and certification in business and music technology, MIDI, notation software, interactive musical software. Over ten years teaching experience in college, university, and community college settings, and in commercial, private or public school studios.

Background has been checked for my existing employment at Greenville College and at Lebanon United Methodist Ch
urch. I passed with flying colors! Just call them to see this.

*** Lesson Details ***
I am a conservatory taught pianist who loves jazz and popular show music and improvisation. I hope my ability to exemplify the highest standards of musicianship inspires my students. I will not push a student beyond their own level of interest and desires, I believe we all have a gold mine within us and only need the help of another to see and obtain the best that is there. I have a doctorate in pedagogy studies, I am able to create a curriculum for each student and utilize methods that are readily available to everyone who chooses to benefit from them.

*** Studio Equipment ***
Photos of the grand piano, keyboards, sound system and computer software are posted with my students

*** Travel Equipment ***
ipad recording/lesson curriculum/students need instrument for practice

*** Specialties ***
piano, contemporary music
...
Reviews
253744_x25zzz9y9tg7kztwvjhm
Catherine B. February 14, 2013
· Piano ·
so much fun!

This teacher has a great time with her students as they learn keyboards, piano, theory, singing and basic skills on percussion and woodwind instruments. She can show beginning guitarists the chords and strums, too. We perform with the teacher at different places for youth group events, recitals, even musical theater shows. I hope I keep learning music the rest of my life.
View Details
View Profile
Catherine B.

Catherine B.

Greenville, IL 62246
(1)
starting at
$20 / 30-min

About Don S.

Close
Profile_80444_pi_don%20at%20baker%20c
Minneapolis, MN

View Full Profile
About Don
Upbeat, fun and patient. Professional performer/teacher with a BA in music (with honors) and English from Wesleyan University, graduate study in music education from University of St. Thomas and film production/screenwriting with honors from Minneapolis College (MCTC). Don
specializes in helping you to unleash your creativity and self-expression. Guitar, songwriting, composition/music production (Garageband, etc), computer-based "beat-making", ensembles, and pop vocal coaching. Tutoring and computer help also offered.

Many years experience in K-12 music and digital media technology (audio and video) working with gifted/talented and special needs students as well as in-school artist residencies. Adult students are a specialty and are most welcome!

*** Lesson Details ***
In individual lessons, instruction will be tailored to the indiv
idual desires and needs of each student. Fun "family-style" lessons with parent(s) and young children are also a new option.

*** Studio Equipment ***
Guitars, ukuleles, bass guitars, strum-sticks, various percussion instruments, ProTools Digi002, Garageband, Kurzweil 2500, Mac Pro Desktop computers, various keyboards, synthesizers and music composition/production software and amps.

*** Travel Equipment ***
Teacher brings instruments/supplies/books as needed, and can arrange to provide instruments for students as well.

*** Specialties ***
Individual or group instruction in folk, jazz, blues, rock, guitar/vocal performance coaching, songwriting, lyric writing, instrumental improvisation, digital media production/composition, iMovie, Garageband, "beat-making" and therapeutic music for youth, adult and special needs students. Tutoring/homework help in English, mac computers and basic academic subjects for K-12 and adult students. Technology (geek) help/support with computers, digital gadgets (especially Apple) for "non-techies".
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Brittany September 15, 2017
· Ukulele · In home
Don was very kind, patient, and encouraging. He brought over a lot of his own materials so it was much less stressful trying to find things to do.
Silhouette-80
Barbara K. June 26, 2017
· Guitar · In studio
Don does an outstanding job! He is able to connect authentically my son and customized the lessons to fit his learning style and needs. Don has drawn so much out of him musically and has also built a community of students that play together. He makes the lessons fun and engaging. He has opened up my 7-year old to the joy of playing and performing and has helped create a love of music. I highly recommend Don as a music teacher.
Silhouette-80
Benjamin L. June 25, 2017
· Ukulele · In studio
Don was very patient with my son. He not only taught my son to play the Ukulele but also answered his numerous questions about video production.
View Details
View Profile
Don S.

Don S.

Online
(11)
starting at
$40 / 30-min

About Mark F.

Close
Profile_328637_pcvhz6b68m9nmyqmbq7d
El Paso, TX

View Full Profile
About Mark
I am a lifelong lover of music and education. I will use my 41years of performance experience to show students how to play guitar, bass, or sing, but more importantly, how to enjoy those things!

I believe music is, first and foremost a source of joy, and my lessons are designed to bring that about. Whether you desire to be a full-time rock star, or just a hobbyist, playing in your church praise band, I can show you how to do it, and have a great time doing it!

*** Lesson Details ***
My lessons are individualized, based on the needs of the student. I teach all ages, all styles. For guitar, I prefer beginning, or intermediate students, although I think I can help the advanced player as well.

Bass- I teach all ages and skill levels.

*** Studio Equipment ***
Pro Tools, Reason, cakewalk pro, Garage Band, and many other software p
rograms, Samsung laptop and two Dell PCs,

*** Specialties ***
Jazz improvisation, funk, pop/rock, recording techniques, rhythm section,
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Eric S. September 23, 2017
· Guitar · In studio
Mark teaches from different perspectives, excellent first lesson and I'm looking forward to being his student for future lessons!
Silhouette-80
Emily F. May 29, 2016
· Guitar · In studio
Unfortunately, yesterday was my last lesson with Mark, as I am moving to Guam. I would definitely not be giving up my weekly lesson with him if that weren't the case! I've learned so much in the short couple months taking lessons from him. I would recommend him to anyone of any skill level. Very helpful and kind. :)
View Details
View Profile
Mark F.

Mark F.

Online
(2)
starting at
$20 / 30-min

About Paul L.

Close
Profile_48791_pi_IMG_5242
Portland, OR
View Full Profile
About Paul
While attending the University of Southern California, where I received my M.F.A., I worked as a writing tutor in the USC Writing Center and also taught Classical Greek Mythology. After graduation, I taught Verbal, Writing and Literature SAT classes and worked as a private tutor in a variety of subjects.

I later taught for five years at the New York Film Academy in Universal City, CA, where I taught a variety of Critical Studies classes to various levels of students, some in certificate programs and others working towards their M.F.A.

As a former English and Spanish double major, I have always enjoyed teaching at various levels. Most of my other work these days involves the writing and editing of short stories, screenplays and novels.

You’ll find that I have the education, background and experience to be an excellent instruct
or for your needs.
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Nicolette M. September 30, 2014
· Film Studies · In studio
Paul was my favorite teacher at the New York Film Academy.
Unlike most of the teachers, Mr. Paul put a lot of effort and creativity into planning his classes, which made them both stimulating and fun for us.
I also loved the fact that Mr. Paul always respected our opinions, and never made us feel stupid when we didn’t understand something. He was always very encouraging and willing to keep explaining until we got it.

I highly recommend him to anyone interested in extra lessons. He is definitely worth it!
View Details
View Profile
Paul L.

Paul L.

Online
(1)
starting at
$35 / 30-min
View More
View Previous

About Darren W.

Close
Profile_98312_pi_IMG_1467
Glendale, CA
View Full Profile
About Darren
If you are looking for lessons in the style of Breakin' or more commercially known as Breakdancing, then look no further! Darren will provide you with easy to follow, step by step lessons that allow ANYONE to learn how to dance whether you are just a beginner or an experienced dancer.

Darren is a member of The Kinjaz from NBC's World of Dance and has been teaching, performing and choreographing in the Hip Hop community for 13 years. He has also been a part of world renowned Hip Hop organizations such as Culture Shock LA and Kaba Modern and spent 4 years on the faculty of the Claire Trevor School School of the Arts at the University of California, Irvine as an adjunct lecturer of Breakin'. He has been sharing his experience and knowledge by teaching and training dancers of all skill levels, from college performing arts programs, dance
studios and online students from around the world, how to break with the knowledge that he has been fortunate enough to gain.

Darren's goal is to share what dance has given him in his life by providing in person or online dance courses for up and coming dancers who may be intimidated or self-conscious to start dancing or do not have access to experienced teachers or a dance studio with classes that interest them around them. His courses allow both new and experienced dancers from all over the world to have access to an experienced teacher who understands the ins and outs of how to break down movements to its simplest form, so a student can confidently learn a movement with correct technique, execute them to music and piece them together to create their own combinations whenever and wherever without having to step foot into a studio.

He aspires not only to help those in his local dance community, but also dance communities worldwide who may not have direct access to the techniques and knowledge that was shared with him.
...
Reviews
Thumb_102004_pi_tlnow_58cea744b5109
Githa S. April 12, 2017
· Dance Fitness · Online
Totally awesome would hire him again!
Silhouette-80
Michael November 29, 2015
· Dance · Online
My experience with Darren was nothting short of outstanding! He has a neverending wheelhouse of moves that he can teach you. More importantly, he can help any bboy or regular dancer with the most important aspect of dance: staying on beat 100% of the time while doing these moves! He was kind, patient, punctual, and very talented. Anyone who wants to learn dance the right way can accelerate their learning by working with Darren!
Thumb_84001_pi_PI%20in%20the%20Sky
Darrell T. November 17, 2015
· Breakdancing · Online
Darren was very patient and nonjudgmental. I think he is a very good instructor. I was a little unsure as to how well a dance lesson would go over the internet but he put those fears to rest. I give him five stars for his knowledge and because he made me feel comfortable.
View Details
View Profile
Darren W.

Darren W.

Online
(3)
starting at
$40 / 30-min

About Lexi I.

Close
Profile_101412_pi_IMG_2169
Saint Johns, FL
View Full Profile
About Lexi
Hi! My name is Lexi and I am a graduate of Jacksonville University with a BFA in Music Theatre. I am available for private voice lessons for both males and females. I have a strong background in both classical and music theatre voice.
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Lorna Nassar April 4, 2017
· Broadway Singing · In home
Lexi was very sweet and my child took a very good liking to her personality. My child has grown so much into her voice and is excited for every lesson. Not only do they work on technique and warmups they also chose well versed songs from popular and influential musicals. She is a definate A+
View Details
View Profile
Lexi I.

Lexi I.

Online
(1)
starting at
$30 / 30-min

About Rob P.

Close
Profile_112142_pi_026
North Hollywood, CA

View Full Profile
About Rob
I've been so blessed to have had game-changing acting teachers who really "got," affirmed, challenged, invigorated, and transformed me. They've helped me in so many ways in my career and life overall. I want you to have that, too! I LOVE THE PROCESS - AND YOU WILL, TOO! There is as much joy and discovery to be had in every acting moment as there is technical prowess to be honed, and in order to make the whole thing synergize both have to be involved and engaged. The truth is that you, as you are, have a great deal of it already covered, but you just may not know what you know and what you have. Discovering that is joyful and empowering, and the rest is a combination of learning how to perfect and wield what you already know and learning the tools and techinques you don't yet know. Then it's a matter of repeating and honing that with someo
ne who you can trust; a teacher who really gets you, your type(s), your joy, your own unique colors and qualities.

You also need a teacher and coach who knows the particulars and requirements the industry has and will expect of you. I've worked on the east coast, in Los Angeles, and other places around the country, on stage and on the big and small screens. I performed for years on the world renowned Groundlings stage under the direction of The Groundlings' founder Gary Austin, in his Improv Troupes. He literally gestated the original SNL yet openly referred to our group as "the best group of improvisational actors I've ever worked with in my entire career!" I still can't get over that one and probably never will. I also studied with Dave Razowsky, Michael Gellman, Jeffrey Sweet, Carol Fox Prescott, Wenndy Mackenzie, Terry Schreiber, Barbara Niven, John Strawbridge, and others. I found myself on many a stage out there while acting in films, etc., as well. Along the way I've also directed, produced, and cast feature films and shows, and of course taught. SO, let's get you on the track to real learning and growth. Also, as I put together other workshops and conferences with other teacher associates of mine - expert, renown actors and teachers from New York, Hollywood, and elsewhere - I'll keep you posted so you can not just go to but live in the next level. I look forward to it.

**NOTE: I'm now bi-coastal, dividing my time primarily between Los Angeles, CA and Baltimore, MD, but am also often in NYC and DC. So, wherever you are, if we're in geographical proximity to each other when you need a session, we'll meet up in person; and if not, no worries, we'll work together online right here in the online classroom! We'll just play it by ear. (I will also travel to any city where there are enough students interested in taking a class and offer an intensive workshop, and possibly also private coaching if time allows. We'll work out the details and pricing for those on a case-by-case basis, but please don't hesitate to contact me about such an event if you're interested in one. I'm happy to do these kinds of classes!)
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Lucas C. November 18, 2017
· Voice Acting · Online
Great experience! Really kind, fun, casual, and expressive, and I can't wait for more lessons!
Silhouette-80
Cheryl October 4, 2017
· Acting · In studio
As an acting coach/teacher, Rob is warm, intuitive, and very giving - as an actor himself, he is talented, surprising, and inventive; it is such a joy to watch him take these wonderful gifts and translate them back and forth between the two arenas. He has much to share as an instructor - highly recommended!
Silhouette-80
Shamos September 28, 2017
· Acting · In studio
Rob's many years of experience coupled with his open and fun personality make him a perfect mentor and teacher for anyone interested in trying their hand at acting! Treat yourself!
View Details
View Profile
Rob P.

Rob P.

Online
(5)
starting at
$50 / 30-min

Recent Performing Arts Articles from the Blog

Whether you're just starting out or a seasoned pro, check out the Performing Arts articles on our blog.

5 Good Audition Songs for Musicals by Voice Type

5 Good Audition Songs for Musicals by Voice Type

Ready for your big break on stage? With these ideas for good audition songs for musicals, compiled by teacher Molly R., you have some fantastic options to choose from:   Update: Check out our newest article, featuring the 50 best audition songs for musicals!   Musical theatre auditions! They can be daunting, can’t they? Especially when they’re only asking for 16-32 bars of a song. What can you possibly show off in THAT short amount of time? No matter if you’re asked t … Read More

5 Good Audition Songs for Musicals by Voice Type
Ready for your big break on stage? With these ideas for good audition songs for musicals, compiled by teacher Molly R., you have some fantastic options to choose from:   Update: Check out our newest article, featuring the 50 best audition songs for musicals!   Musical theatre auditions! They can be daunting, can’t they? Especially when they’re only asking for 16-32 bars of a song. What can you possibly show off in THAT short amount of time? No matter if you’re asked t
Tights, Tutus, and Shoes: Is Learning Ballet Expensive?
If your child is interested in taking ballet lessons, one of the things that is likely going through your mind right now is wondering how much it is going to cost. Many people believe that dance classes, and especially ballet classes, are quite expensive to participate in. While it's true that there are certain supplies your child will need to learn how to dance ballet, purchasing these items does not have to break the bank. Here you will find a rundown of everything your child will need, as wel
Top 5 Wildest Method Acting Techniques in Hollywood History
If you've ever watched an actor disappear into their role, shedding genuine tears or adopting mannerisms that aren't their own, then you've seen method acting techniques in action. Most people think of this approach as "becoming a character," and some actors do take that literally, pretending to actually be the person they're playing.  Method acting is taught everywhere from Hollywood to Broadway. But a few notable actors are well-known for taking it to award-winning extremes, making enormous p
6 Kids' Acting Games to Play With Your Budding Actor
Whether you’re the parent of a budding actor, or a drama enthusiast hoping to ignite a stage spark in your child, there are plenty of cool acting games you can play at home! Acting games are used in many top drama classes and workshops because they’re really handy for developing key acting and performance skills in a fun way. Another cool thing about acting games is that they cost nothing but time and creativity, yet yield educational and personal development as well as hours of precious family
Dance Careers: On Stage and Behind the Scenes
Do you love dance, but aren't sure if you're mentally or physically prepared to devote years toward becoming a professional dancer? Dance is a fun, creative, and even life-changing hobby, but it can be even more than that. No matter what your academic interests, you can find a job that harnesses your love for the stage. In reality, ballet companies and other dance troupes only make up a tiny, elite percentage of dance-related employment opportunities. You might be surprised at the volume and va

Why TakeLessons?

Are You a Teacher?

Find out how TakeLessons can help you grow and manage your business

Learn More