Aviston Crafts & Hobbies Lessons

Looking for private in-home or in-studio lessons? Our Aviston teachers are ready to get you started. Find your teacher today!

Featured On

How it Works

From finding the perfect teacher to managing payments, scheduling and tracking your progress, we take care of all the details, so you can focus on learning. Learn More

Search for a teacher

Compare hundreds of teachers based on the criteria that matter to you, including background checks, age and experience.

Schedule your lessons

When you've found the perfect match, schedule your lessons online using the teacher's real-time availability.

Connect with your teacher

Your teacher will welcome you with a personalized curriculum to meet your specific goals and you'll be able to manage your entire schedule through our free online account.

Can't find a teacher in Aviston?

No problem. Our online lesson platform connects you with any teacher, anywhere. All you need is a reliable Internet connection, a webcam and a microphone.

Convenient

Zero travel time is great for a busy schedule.

Affordable

Typically priced lower than local lessons.

Effective

Online students stick with lessons as long as local students.

Learn More

Popular Crafts & Hobbies Instructors near Aviston

Check out some of our most popular teachers near Aviston including Germantown, Trenton, Breese, Albers and Summerfield.

Showing 7 of 131 results View More

About Richard G.

Close
Profile_38102_pi_403285_330568283646615_106555169381262_826790_2111522184_n
Las Vegas, NV

View Full Profile
About Richard
I can't wait to work with you! I am passionate about the subjects I teach, and find nothing can compare to seeing a student "get it", so they may too enjoy the passion that comes from learning and doing something they love.

Everything I teach I've learned most completely by doing as a Professional, and find great reward in sharing my experience and knowledge with my students.

When the "aha" light goes on, it's truly a wonderful moment for me, and encourages me to drive my students to build towards more of those moments as students, and then ultimately, for themselves as they learn to grow for themselves.
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Frankie L. October 27, 2016
· Photography · In studio
Hi Richard!

Thanks again for your time and info yesterday. I will email you soon, and we will figure out when we should meet for our next class.

Have a great day!

Frankie
Silhouette-80
Rodney September 23, 2015
· Adobe Photoshop · In studio
Great very informative
View Details
View Profile
Richard G.

Richard G.

Online
(2)
starting at
$30 / 30-min

About Harlan H.

Close
Profile_47959_pi_Harlan%20Casual%20Headshot
Florissant, MO
View Full Profile
About Harlan
Congratulations! You are headed in the right direction. Learning how to play Chess will improve your life in more ways than you could ever imagine. My students call me Coach Hodge. I am a Chess, Character, Leadership and Life Coach.

I help my students develop strategies for winning in Chess, but more importantly, I help them learn how to win in the game of Life. Life is Chess. Learning the rules; having a plan; losing gracefully; winning gracefully; and learning from every experience are just a few of the life lessons that come from the game of Chess.

As an international Chess Coach and published author of Character Chess, I teach the basics of Chess to beginners. All of my lessons are designed to get students started playing and winning right away. Enough with the talk. Let's get started.
...
View Details
View Profile
Harlan H.

Harlan H.

Online
starting at
$25 / 30-min

About Karl K.

Close
Profile_48304_pi_1308310%20Karl%20Kramer%20Horn%20040%5B17%5D
New York, NY

View Full Profile
About Karl
Professional internationally touring musician for 20+ years, Classical, Broadway, Experimental, Early music. Bachelor of Music; Norwegian State Academy, Master's of Music; Mannes College of Music, Doctor of Musical Arts; Stony Brook University (expected completion Spring 2015). Faculty positions held at Rowan University, NJ, University of Tennessee, TN, University of Akron, OH, International Festival Institute, TX, Siena Summer Music, Siena, Italy
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Denise November 3, 2017
· Bridge · Online
Karl was explained things in a way I completely understood. He patiently and thoroughly addressed all my questions; and, didn't mind my interruptions or requests to repeat himself.
Silhouette-80
Ed October 6, 2017
· Bridge · In studio
Full of information
Silhouette-80
Michael August 23, 2017
· Bridge · Online
A very helpful session!
View Details
View Profile
Karl K.

Karl K.

Online
(11)
starting at
$40 / 30-min

About Timpla S.

Close
Profile_88896_pi_image
Clayton, NC

View Full Profile
About Timpla
Hello! You want to learn to sew? I'm Timpla and I can help you!

FEEDBACK FROM MY PREVIOUS STUDENTS:

"It was great! I learned so much about my sewing machine."

"Had a great time Timpla! I was able to hem my daughter's skirt and repair a shirt sleeve. Looking forward to next time."

"I definitely benefited from the class! Thanks so much!!!"

I LOVE helping my students conquer their "fear" of the sewing machine, which unleashes excitement about their potential to sew unique items for themselves and others.

I've been sewing since I was a young girl, learning from my grandmother.

My experience includes sewing women's and girl's apparel, home decor, and quilts. I decided to start teaching private and group lessons after receiving many requests from friends and acquaintances.

I look forward to helping you develop the
skills you need to tackle any sewing project.

~Timpla S.
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Gift Wali November 27, 2017
· Sewing · Online
My sewing experience with Timpla was simply amazing. She is a well of knowledge willing to share all her skills and tricks to make sewing more fun and less intimidating. 😁🤩 - I give her 5 Stars she was Absolutely Amazing!
Silhouette-80
Bonnie June 19, 2017
· Sewing · Online
Timpla Stewart is absolutely wonderful!
Thumb_101819_pi_Dallas-serious_1
Dallas T. April 5, 2017
· Sewing · In home
Timpla is smart and funny and really patient. Her focus on doing to learn and repeating the basics was SUPER helpful for me and after one lesson, I feel like I have a much better grasp on my machine and on how to achieve my sewing goals. It was fun and I can't wait for our next lesson!
View Details
View Profile
Timpla S.

Timpla S.

Online
(6)
starting at
$35 / 30-min

About Sue R.

Close
Profile_97266_pi_IMG_20161030_194115
Alton, IL
View Full Profile
About Sue
Hi! My name is Sue. I have been crocheting for 40 years. I have made many things including but not limited to clothing, afghans, kitchen items, toys, decorative items and jewelry. I also do counted cross stitch, making wedding and birth samplers for all of my children and other gifts. I would be pleased to help you reach your potential in either of these two mediums in a one to one teaching/learning relationship..
...
Reviews
Thumb_98549_pi_2090557056407
Jo Ann December 14, 2016
· Crocheting · In home
I was a total beginner with crochet. I had tried to learn on my own without success, so I decided to take lessons. Sue was an excellent choice for an instructor; she's very knowledgeable, friendly and very patient. I made a lot of mistakes at first, but Sue explained what I was doing wrong and how to correct and avoid the problem. I was a little slow starting out, but I finally began to catch on. After my third lesson, I feel confident enough to make something small and easy. With practice, I know I will continue to improve. Thanks, Sue!
View Details
View Profile
Sue R.

Sue R.

Alton, IL 62002
(1)
starting at
$15 / 30-min
View More
View Previous

About Stuart P.

Close
Profile_98461_pi_Stuart%20crop%20fixed
Bellingham, MA
View Full Profile
About Stuart
I'm a former England junior national and regional chess champion with 25 years’ experience coaching all ages of chess player from children to adults. I've set up and coached chess clubs in 5 schools in England and the USA. In 2014, I was the Rhode Island Elementary School Chess League Coach of the Year. In addition to chess coaching experience, I have 7 years’ elementary teaching experience in England and Rhode Island including teaching chess lessons at school.
...
View Details
View Profile
Stuart P.

Stuart P.

Online
starting at
$40 / 30-min

About Zillur R.

Close
Profile_117671_pi_IMG_20171115_163448
Buffalo, NY
View Full Profile
About Zillur
I am an International Chess Master. I beat lots of world class grand master. I do have experience about teaching chess since 1990.
...
View Details
View Profile
Zillur R.

Zillur R.

Online
starting at
$20 / 30-min

Recent Crafts & Hobbies Articles from the Blog

Whether you're just starting out or a seasoned pro, check out the Crafts & Hobbies articles on our blog.

The Best Sewing Blogs and Online Resources

The Best Sewing Blogs and Online Resources

Blogs and online resources can be a huge help when you're taking sewing lessons, but which blogs are the best? Here, Glendale, CA sewing teacher Marie B. shares her picks for the best sewing blogs and online resources... In the ocean of information that is the Internet, it can be daunting to find the right information when you need it. One can easily get lost in the myriad of blogs and websites. I have put together a list of some of the best sites for sewing tips, sewing tutorials, sewing … Read More

The Best Sewing Blogs and Online Resources
Blogs and online resources can be a huge help when you're taking sewing lessons, but which blogs are the best? Here, Glendale, CA sewing teacher Marie B. shares her picks for the best sewing blogs and online resources... In the ocean of information that is the Internet, it can be daunting to find the right information when you need it. One can easily get lost in the myriad of blogs and websites. I have put together a list of some of the best sites for sewing tips, sewing tutorials, sewing
6 Popular Spring Hobbies That Won't Break the Bank
Happy first day of spring! Now that the days are longer and the weather is warmer, it's the perfect time to start a new hobby. And don't worry -- there are tons of hobbies to choose from that don't require expensive equipment or pricey commitments. In fact, many of these cheap hobbies can actually save you money in the long-run. Check out our recommendations below, and see what sparks your interest! 1. Languages Did you know that learning a second language can increase your brain power, ex
How to Hem Jeans: A Step-by-Step Guide for Beginners [Infographic]
Looking for advice on hemming jeans? Finding a pair of jeans that fits just right can be a challenge. Sometimes, in order to get the perfect fit, you have to go to a tailor and if you have multiple pairs of jeans, alteration fees can add up! Wearing jeans that are too long or too short is always uncomfortable, and oftentimes unflattering. But there are many easy ways to hem jeans to get the look you desire and in this blog post, we'll share a few of them. Whether you're taking sewing less
The Beginner's Guide to Basic Sewing Stitches [Infographic]
Before you can sew your own clothes, create crafts, and take on sewing projects, you have to learn the basic sewing stitches. From hand-sewing stitches to seam finishes, sewing instructor Cathy G. is here to help you master the basics...  Modern sewing machines have all but eliminated the need for hand sewing. Gone are the days of constructing a garment by hand with a needle and thread. That being said, there are still many places where hand-sewing stitches are necessary for a high-qualit
Sewing 101 | Essential Sewing Terms and Phrases [Infographic]
When you learn to sew, you're introduced to slew of new vocabulary words and phrases. To help you understand these words and phrases, and be more conversational about your new craft, we've put together this glossary of sewing terms from Columbus, OH teacher Nikki D... “May your bobbin always be full!” ~Author Unknown. Most recognize what this quote means, but you might be thinking, “What on earth is a bobbin?” Bobbin, miter, selvedge – there is an extensive amount of vocabulary in sewing,

Why TakeLessons?

Are You a Teacher?

Find out how TakeLessons can help you grow and manage your business

Learn More