Aviston Crafts & Hobbies Lessons

Looking for private in-home or in-studio lessons? Our Aviston teachers are ready to get you started. Find your teacher today!

Featured On

How it Works

From finding the perfect teacher to managing payments, scheduling and tracking your progress, we take care of all the details, so you can focus on learning. Learn More

Search for a teacher

Compare hundreds of teachers based on the criteria that matter to you, including background checks, age and experience.

Schedule your lessons

When you've found the perfect match, schedule your lessons online using the teacher's real-time availability.

Connect with your teacher

Your teacher will welcome you with a personalized curriculum to meet your specific goals and you'll be able to manage your entire schedule through our free online account.

Can't find a teacher in Aviston?

No problem. Our online lesson platform connects you with any teacher, anywhere. All you need is a reliable Internet connection, a webcam and a microphone.

Convenient

Zero travel time is great for a busy schedule.

Affordable

Typically priced lower than local lessons.

Effective

Online students stick with lessons as long as local students.

Learn More

Popular Crafts & Hobbies Instructors near Aviston

Check out some of our most popular teachers near Aviston including Germantown, Trenton, Breese, Albers and Summerfield.

Showing 10 of 119 results View More

About Shahadoth C.

Close
417934_g797tj4lvssgtbfxgvf5
Jamaica, NY
View Full Profile
About Shahadoth
I teach various courses.
I specialize in preparing individuals for the SHSAT and SAT, delivering exceptional results through the augmentation of relevant ntelligence quotients.

Multiple students of mine have been accepted into Stuyvesant High School, as well as various other prestigious schools, including Townsend Harris, Bronx Science, and Brooklyn Tech.

I open students minds to advanced logical processing and am efficient in helping students process faster in engaging manners. This has proven to be both academically as well as practically beneficial to my students.

I tutor people in manners that dramatically improves their GPA and gives them the tools, work ethic and processing capabilities to accomplish beyong 90+ GPA levels.

One of my students came to me with a below 78 GPA. After tutoring the child for 7 months, his GPA
had increased to above 98 in the second marking period of his first semester of high school. I taught him to process faster, work with discipline so as to focus better, and be determined on top of course materials. I tutor people to be more efficient academically and practically so that the result is a better person with greater capabilities. This helps people become more self sufficient and reach their full potential.

*** Lesson Details ***
I open minds to advanced logical processing, enhancing them academically and practically. I teach all High School courses other than foreign languages excluding Spanish. I also teach college courses including Accounting, Business, English, & Statistics.

*** Specialties ***
SAT
SHSAT (Specialized High School Admissions Test)
Math
English
ESL
Business
Writing
Poetry
Advanced Logical Reasoning
Mixed Martial Arts
Choreography
Exercise Sciences
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Hanyuan C. December 26, 2017
· Writing · In home
Excellent tutor! Helped me a lot!
View Details
View Profile
Shahadoth C.

Shahadoth C.

Online
(1)
starting at
$50 / 30-min

About Kim K.

Close
Profile_92818_pi_IMG_0106
Ridgewood, NY

View Full Profile
About Kim
For creative people and makers, crafting is like going to the gym. You will find great fulfillment and a sense of accomplishment if you set aside time on a regular basis to nurture this very important part of what makes you who you are. Think of me like a personal trainer. I will encourage and inspire you while you develop your skills and express yourself through a variety of textile based media.

Private and group lessons or classes are provided in locations around the NYC area, in my space or via webcam. My focus is on providing an entertaining, relaxing and enjoyable experience as you learn a leisure time activity. I am extremely patient and detail oriented. When you let me know what you would like to learn or make, I will guide you through everything from selecting materials to fine tuning your technique. Take a lesson with me to fi
nd out why my students love me.

Teaching is a wonderful extension of my work as a professional crochet and knit designer and technical editor. A web search will reveal some of my published work over the last decade. As a craft teacher in the NYC area for over 8 years, I have worked with individuals, groups and classes of all ages and skill levels. Most of my experience focuses on working with older adults and people with special needs. Minors must have a supervising adult present. I do not work with groups of young children.

I have studied the history and mastered the skills to make and teach a vast variety of textile techniques. Please see my experience.

If you are using this site without the assistance of a TL Rep, I recommend the schedule as you go option. I often have openings in my calendar sooner than the site allows. After we make contact, we can choose the best date and time.

*** Lesson Details ***
Please let me know what you would like to learn or make before your lesson so that we may be fully prepared with any materials, tools, equipment, books or handouts. Students are expected to provide all their own tools and materials unless other arrangements are made.

Recommended duration for in-person lessons is 90 minutes. A surcharge may be added for travel outside of areas accessible by one MTA fare or expected travel time exceeding 90 minutes.

*** Specialties ***
Textile based crafts including crochet, knitting, embroidery, sewing, patchwork, plastic canvas, needlepoint, counted cross stitch, bobbin lace, historic textile and costume conservation and storage, and more.

I also love to research and develop craft projects for classes or master techniques students would like to learn.
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Nadra E. February 12, 2018
· English · Online
Silhouette-80
Nan February 9, 2018
· Sewing · Online
Kim is a natural. She listens to your questions and answers them and shows you how sewing techniques are done. I will be definitely be taking more classes with Kim. Thank you Kim so very much!
Silhouette-80
julie February 4, 2018
· Sewing · In home
wonderful . knowledgable. thorough
View Details
View Profile
Kim K.

Kim K.

Online
(107)
starting at
$35 / 45-min

About Marcel M.

Close
Profile_60998_pi_Marcel%20Miller
Glendale, CA

View Full Profile
About Marcel
I work as a tutor and mentor in many of those fields for years. It was and is a side business, but I always enjoyed teaching.
I am looking forward to move on with you and / or your kids.
Have a great day,
Marcel

Update 02/10/15: Takelessons is a great way to teach and a fantastic and easy way to learn for students. I currently have 3 students per week, with several hours. I really enjoy it, either online via Skype or Facetime or Live at the students place. Hit me up and let's move something together.
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Ems H. July 2, 2017
· Mixed Martial Arts · In home
I did not actually take any lessons with him, but his schedule did not reflect what showed as available in Takelessons. He had a very bad attitude and would not actually schedule the lesson after several exchanges.
Thumb_5931bd1d653d1_review_File_000
Andy June 2, 2017
· German · Online
I need to improve my spoken German for business and Marcel has been invaluable in helping me improve at a good pace while being incredibly flexible on lesson planning.

I've been working with him for about a month now and I've grown to feel more comfortable speaking with my colleagues who are native German speakers.

If you want a native, professional teacher who can be fun...Marcel is your guy.
Silhouette-80
Thia S. January 22, 2017
· Microsoft Word · In home
Marcel is a great teacher, solved all my complicated issues and answered every question with advanced knowledge. He's patient and has a light humorous way of making you feel smart when you need it most!
View Details
View Profile
Marcel M.

Marcel M.

Online
(17)
starting at
$35 / 30-min

About Sandy Q.

Close
Profile_60896_pi_100_7633
Vista, CA
View Full Profile
About Sandy
Having taught Chinese Language Skills in the private sector, primary, secondary and college institutions for a number of years in China, has not only given me great confidence to teach in a classroom setting, but has inherently brought an instructor comfort that feels natural to me.
In addition, finding an opportunity where I can assist the kids, middle school and high school students and adults who love to learn Chinese college staff while maintaining my teaching proficiency in traditional or simplified Chinese characters is both welcome and rewarding to me.

I'm certain that my rich knowledge and years of experience in classroom practical application of Chinese Curriculum / Culture coupled with my love to teach make me a professional, responsible and patient teacher.

In addition, I can teach you Chinese in your location which
is no more than 10 miles away from Vista where I live. I can also teach you how to play badminton and cook delicious authentic Chinese food.
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Jackie G. January 30, 2018
· Origami · Online
My daughter had a great experience and is looking forward to the next lesson.
Silhouette-80
Nolan M. October 13, 2015
· Mandarin · In studio
Ms. Qi is a very accessible and diligent teacher. My son can be difficult, but she found ways to quickly connect with him and get him to open up. She accommodated his need for assistance with his regular work, but encouraged us to "start again" with Chinese which is probably a good idea. Very much appreciate her experience and enthusiasm.
View Details
View Profile
Sandy Q.

Sandy Q.

Online
(2)
starting at
$20 / 30-min

About Florin F.

Close
Profile_90459_pi_MC14
Evanston, IL

View Full Profile
About Florin
I am an International Master and 2015 co-champion of the State of Illinois. I have been coaching full time since 2011 and helping players increase their rating and get more wins!
If you have any questions at all send me a message and I will try to get back to you as soon as possible. Also if you do not see a certain time slot available you can check with me to see if indeed that slot is taken.

For lessons I typically use Dasher and Skype (audio only).
You could try to use the iOS version instead but it has a few more glitches than the Windows version.

You can get a 30 day trial on ICC (Internet Chess Club) after that it will be a monthly subscription but it is the best chess server out there for finding the right kind of players.

Right now I am only accepting online lessons, thanks for stopping by!
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
David J. June 15, 2017
· Chess · Online
Florin is a great instructor. I asked my son (age 12) if he used any of Florin's advice/teachings in his latest chess tournament, and he said, "Yes! I used EVERYTHING he taught me." :)
Silhouette-80
Alex April 5, 2017
· Chess · In studio
We had great conversation in general and insights in chess. Florin is very engaging and great individual. Overjoyed to have met him. Alex
Silhouette-80
Kevin January 4, 2017
· Chess · Online
What a great instructor! After six months of lessons I can say, without a doubt, Florin is the best instructor anyone could hope for. Florin is very knowledgeable and helped me improve my game more than I could ever imagine. He is patient and takes the time to explain difficult concepts. It is not everyday you get the opportunity to receive lessons from an International Master.
View Details
View Profile
Florin F.

Florin F.

Online
(6)
starting at
$30 / 30-min
View More
View Previous

About Sue R.

Close
Profile_97266_pi_IMG_20161030_194115
Alton, IL
View Full Profile
About Sue
Hi! My name is Sue. I have been crocheting for 40 years. I have made many things including but not limited to clothing, afghans, kitchen items, toys, decorative items and jewelry. I also do counted cross stitch, making wedding and birth samplers for all of my children and other gifts. I would be pleased to help you reach your potential in either of these two mediums in a one to one teaching/learning relationship..
...
Reviews
Thumb_98549_pi_2090557056407
Jo Ann December 14, 2016
· Crocheting · In home
I was a total beginner with crochet. I had tried to learn on my own without success, so I decided to take lessons. Sue was an excellent choice for an instructor; she's very knowledgeable, friendly and very patient. I made a lot of mistakes at first, but Sue explained what I was doing wrong and how to correct and avoid the problem. I was a little slow starting out, but I finally began to catch on. After my third lesson, I feel confident enough to make something small and easy. With practice, I know I will continue to improve. Thanks, Sue!
View Details
View Profile
Sue R.

Sue R.

Alton, IL 62002
(1)
starting at
$15 / 30-min

About Viktor A.

Close
Profile_107170_pi_received_1761152533925193
Bloomingdale, IL

View Full Profile
About Viktor
I've been there: cramming for the next test, not understanding the material no matter how much I study it, at times it seems hopeless. I now understand how having an effective and experienced tutor can be the key to having an approach to schooling that is both effective and satisfying for both the student and parent. I've been through it, I understand it, and now with the knowledge I have gained I have been helping people achieve their academic goals in a fun and painless way.
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Rocky L. February 19, 2018
· Computer Programming · Online
Very helpful, Viktor knows what he is talking about!
Viktor helped my son with his AP Computer Science. Having never taken CS myself, I was uncertain what I was looking for in a CS tutor, but my son was very pleased.
Viktor showed himself more than qualified to help my son with the material, and we look forward to many more sessions.
Silhouette-80
O&N January 16, 2018
· Computer Programming · Online
Excellent intro to Java programming for 10yo kid - clear and structured lessons, great progress! Looking forward to more, thank you!
Silhouette-80
Phillip S. August 10, 2017
· Computer Programming · Online
Very informative teacher! Breaks down the information easily for students and is easily accessible. Quick to respond to emails.
View Details
View Profile
Viktor A.

Viktor A.

Online
(7)
starting at
$15 / 30-min

About John H.

Close
Profile_109576_pi_John_Hardin_
Long Island City, NY

View Full Profile
About John
Here goes...
I am a chess teacher, tutor, singer, and Shakespearean actor in NYC! I guess you could say I wear a lot of hats.

I graduated with honors in 2009 from New York University with a BFA in Drama. I've been professionally teaching since 2012, but I have always loved sharing the game of chess with anyone who wants to learn (just ask my friends).

Students can expect to face new challenges and to improve each and every week. I am happy to work with students of all different ages and experience levels. As a teacher in the New York Public School system, I know how to make chess simple and friendly enough for Kindergartners, Senior Citizens, and everyone in between! And as an active tournament player (current rating 2000), I can offer great insight into the needs of any skill level. I am thrilled to work with ambitious tournament playe
rs and those who just want to learn how to beat their friends :).

Chess is a wonderful, challenging game, but I truly believe that anyone can learn to play if they are motivated. Come work with me and discover your new obsession!
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Joey February 7, 2018
· Chess · Online
My son loves taking lessons from John
Silhouette-80
George January 31, 2018
· Chess · Online
it was awesome.
Silhouette-80
Luke H. January 28, 2018
· Chess · Online
View Details
View Profile
John H.

John H.

Online
(9)
starting at
$40 / 30-min

About Vera K.

Close
Profile_121329_pi_68825BB4-C1C1-4CC6-A146-1D56CB34FD98
Asbury Park, NJ
View Full Profile
About Vera
Artist, mom, and geek. I’ve loved crafting and comics, sci-fi, animation, and fiber since I was little. I have a chocolate mini/toy poodle puppy, and a 6yo daughter.

I’m a self-taught knitter, and sometimes-crocheter, and have been doing both for about 20 years. I salivate over fiber and fabric alike, and sew smaller projects when time allows. I have a BA in Studio Art, with a concentration in metal and wood sculpture, and fiber.

My goal is to give you a good foundation in knitting, and material and equipment basics, and we can go from there! I can teach you to read patterns, and follow them, as well as drafting your own patterns.
...
View Details
View Profile
Vera K.

Vera K.

Online
starting at
$42 / 30-min

About Sandhya G.

Close
Profile_122195_pi_IMG_4336
Frisco, TX
View Full Profile
About Sandhya
Chess
Levels Taught: Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced
I have been teaching chess for 4 years. I have worked
with age range 4 to 14 yrs and my students have gone
on to tournament level and won competitions.I have the
most experience working with those in the 100-1800
range and specialize in creating opening principles,
positional understanding,strategies,tactics and special
moves.

About : Teaches students: Ages 5+
Teaching since: Feb 2014

My name is Sandhya.I have worked independently as a
chess teacher for over 4 years. I played in District
tournaments and won competitions.I have been
teaching chess in private schools, including group and
private lessons in home.Coach players wi
th a passion,
energy and excitement while teaching sportsmanship and
integrity and Instruct players on the rules, playing within
the guidelines and optimizing performance in the
framework of the games regulations.

Experience: Chess Feb 2014 - Present
Private Tutor
...
View Details
View Profile
Sandhya G.

Sandhya G.

Online
starting at
$17 / 30-min

Recent Crafts & Hobbies Articles from the Blog

Whether you're just starting out or a seasoned pro, check out the Crafts & Hobbies articles on our blog.

How to Hem Jeans: A Step-by-Step Guide for Beginners [Infographic]

How to Hem Jeans: A Step-by-Step Guide for Beginners [Infographic]

Looking for advice on hemming jeans? Finding a pair of jeans that fits just right can be a challenge. Sometimes, in order to get the perfect fit, you have to go to a tailor and if you have multiple pairs of jeans, alteration fees can add up! Wearing jeans that are too long or too short is always uncomfortable, and oftentimes unflattering. But there are many easy ways to hem jeans to get the look you desire and in this blog post, we'll share a few of them. Whether you're taking sewing less … Read More

How to Hem Jeans: A Step-by-Step Guide for Beginners [Infographic]
Looking for advice on hemming jeans? Finding a pair of jeans that fits just right can be a challenge. Sometimes, in order to get the perfect fit, you have to go to a tailor and if you have multiple pairs of jeans, alteration fees can add up! Wearing jeans that are too long or too short is always uncomfortable, and oftentimes unflattering. But there are many easy ways to hem jeans to get the look you desire and in this blog post, we'll share a few of them. Whether you're taking sewing less
6 Popular Spring Hobbies That Won't Break the Bank
Happy first day of spring! Now that the days are longer and the weather is warmer, it's the perfect time to start a new hobby. And don't worry -- there are tons of hobbies to choose from that don't require expensive equipment or pricey commitments. In fact, many of these cheap hobbies can actually save you money in the long-run. Check out our recommendations below, and see what sparks your interest! 1. Languages Did you know that learning a second language can increase your brain power, ex
10 Fun, Festive Holiday Sewing Projects
  As the holiday season approaches, these holiday sewing projects will help you get into the spirit! So whether you're looking for some festive holiday decor or some DIY gift ideas, make sure to bookmark these fun, festive holiday sewing projects... Craft Sewing Projects   Lovely Scissor Holder   There’s no point in starting your holiday sewing projects without an organized sewing kit. Otherwise, you’ll never be able to find what you need. This DIY scissor h
10 Sewing Tips From a Sewing Expert
Want to improve your sewing skills? In this guest post, Yesterday's Thimble blogger Lisha Vidler shares 10 sewing tips to help you take your seamstress skills to the next level... Whether you're new to sewing or just looking to improve, there are things you can do to take your skills up a notch. Don't let your garments look "Becky Home-Ecky," as Michael Kors would say! Even if you aren't a professional dressmaker or crafter, you can aim for a more professional look. Here are 10 tips to he
The Beginner's Guide to Basic Sewing Stitches [Infographic]
Before you can sew your own clothes, create crafts, and take on sewing projects, you have to learn the basic sewing stitches. From hand-sewing stitches to seam finishes, sewing instructor Cathy G. is here to help you master the basics...  Modern sewing machines have all but eliminated the need for hand sewing. Gone are the days of constructing a garment by hand with a needle and thread. That being said, there are still many places where hand-sewing stitches are necessary for a high-qualit

Why TakeLessons?

Are You a Teacher?

Find out how TakeLessons can help you grow and manage your business

Learn More