Joseph Van Doran

Joseph V.

Hartford, CT

Lesson Details



Joseph delivers an exceptional lesson experience and ranks in the top 15% of our teachers nationwide.
Teaches students:
Ages 5+

Teaching since:

Rising classical guitarist, Joseph Van Doran, is currently pursuing his Master of Music at the Hartt School as a member of the prestigious Performance 20/20 Honors Chamber Music Program, under Christopher Ladd. He received his Bachelors at the Hartt School, and is also a graduate of the Manhattan School of Music Precollege Division, where he studied under acclaimed guitarist, Mark Delpriora.

Through collaborations with the New England Guitar Ensembles Festival, Mr. Van Doran has presented the world premieres of “Hemingway,” by Andrew York in 2013, “4 Moods and Coda,” by Roland Dyens in 2014, and “Never Forget Atahualpa,” by Carlo Domeniconi in 2015. He also premiered “A Growing Absence,” a monumental guitar quartet by Lisa Coons, as a major part of the 2016 Women Composers Festival of Hartford.

He was awarded the opportunity to perform at the GFA New York Regional Symposium at the DiMenna Center for Classical Music. Other notable performances include Carnegie Hall, The Bushnell Performing Arts Center, and the Governor’s Mansion in Hartford, CT.

Mr. Van Doran has performed in masterclasses for world-renowned guitarists including Jason Vieaux, Oscar Ghiglia, Antigoni Goni, Benjamin Verdery, Richard Provost, and Christopher Ladd.

While a strong soloist, he is deeply dedicated to the collaborative nature of chamber music. He has performed in large ensembles, guitar quartets, mixed ensembles, and, most notably, in Duo Alterity with flutist, Allison Makenzie Hughes.

+ Read More


MMus Classical Guitar Performance
Sep 2016 - Present
Hartt School of Music
BMus Classical Guitar Performance
Sep 2012 - May 2016
Hartt School of Music
Sep 2010 - May 2012
Manhattan School of Music


Fluent / Native Proficiency

Photos & Videos

Violin Sonata no. 1, BWV 1001 - by Johann Sebastian Bach 
I. Grave 
II. Fuga 
III. Siciliano 
IV. Presto
Ecloghe - by Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco
Histoire du Tango, III. Nightclub (1960) - by Astor Piazzolla
Photo by Joseph V.

Photo by Joseph V.

Photo by Joseph V.


0 Reviews

Write a Review

You may want to revisit

Previously viewed teachers: