Teaching Locations:
Profile-location-online Online
Teaching Locations:
Profile-location-online Online
Levels taught:
Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced

I've been teaching English online to children and adults for over 3 years. 100% of lessons with me are done in English. In general, lessons with me will follow along in a text book of my choice based on the students' comprehension level. Throughout lessons, I also focus on pronunciation, no matter the student's level.

For beginners, I use pictures, body language and props to help students learn new words and understand important concepts as they are breached in the book. The focus in the first 6 months of lessons is for the student to gain a comprehensive vocabulary arsenal along with a basic understanding of sentence structure and grammar.

For intermediate students the pace changes quite a bit. The focus in class becomes grammar and sentence structure, relying on the student to make notes on new words and study them outside of class. At this level, we start to look into cultural expressions and idioms. I also begin to push students to ask and answer questions using the words they know and supplementing with body language. This helps to develop an actual use of English in real life, versus solely the use of theory in books.

With Advanced students, the focus is more on exploring different topics in English and have discussion-focused lessons. In between discussions, I will go over what was said well vs. what was said awkwardly or incorrectly. I then offer more commonly used forms of saying those things. We also delve more deeply into cultural expressions and idioms.

About MAE C.


My name is Mae Corbin! I'm an American from Texas, though I travel quite a bit. I've been teaching English for 3 years, though I have over a decade of experience working as a coach, camp counselor, camp director, and mentor to children all over the states. I've also worked for a couple of years with adults as a swim coach and English teacher.

Aside from teaching English, I love to study martial arts, especially Muay Thai, Brazillian Jui Jitsu, Wrestling and K1. I also enjoy reading fiction and love to have 5-15 minute book discussions with students who love to read at the beginning of lessons!

I look forward to meeting you!


Write a Review
No reviews have been submitted

Let Our Student Counselors Help You

We can match you with the perfect teacher and take care of all your scheduling needs.
Reserve Your Spot
change subject
Other lesson locations may be too far away. show all
MAE's Availability
Time Zone:
100% Satisfaction Guarantee

100% Satisfaction Guarantee

Try the first lesson and if you’re not satisfied we'll refund any unused lessons.

Recently Viewed