Hallie Poindexter

Hallie P.

Canton, GA
Teaching Locations:
Profile-location-online Online
Profile-location-studio Teacher's Studio
Profile-location-home Student's Home
Teaching Locations:
Profile-location-online Online
Profile-location-studio Teacher's Studio
Profile-location-home Student's Home
Levels taught:
Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced
Thanks to my background in Phonetics/Linguistics and Education, I am able to target specific pronunciation issues and practically how to fix them. I love teaching and mentoring, especially in regard to language as I am a language learner myself. I have spent time as an Au Pair in Italy, where my main job was teaching Italian children the English language. After spending time in a small, non-English speaking town in Italy, I understand the difficulty that comes with learning a language and the best strategies that have worked for me and people I know. Thanks to my education background, I also know the strategies proven to be more effective and lasting. My second language is Italian and I understand a bit of Spanish as well.

Perché studiavo educazione e logopedia all'università, sono un esperto della pronuncia inglese. Non solo questo, ma anche come pronunciamo le parole praticamente. Adoro insegnare, soprattutto le lingue perché sto imparando le lingue anch'io. Ho passato due mese in Italia come un Au Pair, dove insegnavo inglese ai bambini. Non c'era nessuno che parlava inglese, quindi, capisco la difficoltà di imparare una nuova lingua e le strategie più utili per me e per gli altri.

About Hallie P.

My name is Hallie, and I love to teach and learn! I believe that any student has the potential to succeed under a teacher's commitment to believe in the student. In the Spring of 2018, I studied abroad in Cortona, Italy, and found my love of learning languages. Since then, I have been studying Italian and Speech Pathology in UGA's College of Education and working as a Mentor/Tutor and Assistant Learning Specialist at the University of Georgia. Here, I furthered my love for teaching and developed skills in innovating individually specialized teaching methods to accommodate the needs of each of my students. I believe that success comes when the student and teacher find a method that works well for them and can learn to understand each other and their learning styles. I can appreciate the difficulty and frustrations of language learning (as a language learner myself), and I hope to use that knowledge to help you succeed in proven methods I've studied and practiced as an educator, as well as methods that have been most effective for me during my own language learning journey. I am a mother tongue English speaker, and Italian is my second language. I can also understand a bit of Spanish. I lived in a small town in Italy for a couple of months before the Corona outbreak, so I can understand what its like to be a fish out of water in a foreign language speaking country. If you are an ESOL learner, I would love to meet you with patience and empathy to help you succeed in an English dominated country! Please feel free to reach out with any questions or concerns.

**I will be conducting mostly online meetings due to the growing concern of the COVID-19 Pandemic**

Reviews

Write a Review
No reviews have been submitted

Education

Bachelor's Degree in Communication Sciences and Disorders
Aug 2015 - May 2019

University of Georgia- College of Education

Languages

English

Fluent / Native Proficiency

Italian

Professional Proficiency

Spanish (very limited)

Limited Proficiency

Let Our Student Counselors Help You

We can match you with the perfect teacher and take care of all your scheduling needs.
Reserve Your Spot
English
change subject
Other lesson locations may be too far away. show all
Hallie's Availability
Mo
Tu
We
Th
Fri
Sa
Su
Mornings
Afternoons
Evenings
Time Zone:
100% Satisfaction Guarantee

100% Satisfaction Guarantee

Try the first lesson and if you’re not satisfied we'll refund any unused lessons.

Recently Viewed