Picture of ESL lessons in Lakewood, OH

Lakewood, OH ESL Lessons

Looking for private in-home or in-studio ESL lessons? Our Lakewood teachers are ready to get you started. Find your teacher today!

Featured On

Why TakeLessons?

Our teachers have taught

2 , 1 3 8 , 1 8 8

lessons and counting!

Popular ESL Instructors near Lakewood, OH

Check out some of our most popular teachers near Lakewood, OH including Cleveland, Rocky River, Westlake, Brookpark and Bay Village.

Showing 4 of 191 results View More

About Matthew H.

Close
Profile_61068_pi_01%20Professional%20-%20Suit%20-%20Square
Cleveland, OH

View Full Profile

I teach English as a Second Language and English for Speakers of Other Languages. While teaching, I focus on pronunciation, vocabulary, spelling, reading, writing, sentence structure, subject-verb agreement, comprehension, etc. I have taught ESL/ESOL/TOEFL/TOEIC/IELTS to Saudi/Persian, Chinese/Taiwanese, Russian/Ukrainian/Latvian, Japanese, and Brazilian students, as well as others. I have helped six TOEFL candidates retake their test and score totals in listening, speaking, reading, writing as high as 96.

About Matthew
Dear Parents and Students,

May I be a personal tutor for you or your child? I have been successfully tutoring for over 12 years. I have great references, and I am one of the top tutors because I am
so easy to work with. I teach in person, or via TakeLessons classroom, telephone, Skype, FaceTime, Google Hangouts, Join.me, Appear.in, Screenhero (remote desktop, screen sharing) interactive whiteboards, as well as email attachments (PDF, Word, Excel, etc.) I graduated with honors, Summa Cum Laude from Case Western Reserve University, where I made the Dean's List. I also earned a Provost Academic Scholarship for my excellent test scores, including 34 in ACT mathematics and 780 in SAT mathematics.

In addition to teaching for Cleveland schools, I currently teach 20 private sessions each week, 1st through 12th grade, as well as college students and business professionals. I have also served on the faculty at Cuyahoga Community College.

I am patient, friendly and many students tell me that I explain concepts more effectively than their teachers. I am available weekdays or weekends, days or nights, throughout the entire year. I would be happy to answer any questions you might have regarding my experience and teaching methods. While it should go without saying, I have a clean background that has been verified by the FBI and BCII. Let me know if you would like to set up an introductory lesson to design a customized strategy. There is no obligation to continue unless a customer is 100% satisfied.

I am one of the Top Five Tutors for:
1. most diverse subject matter
2. widest student age range
3. farthest geographical regions
4. largest client base
5. most hours taught monthly

Please note: I have set up my billing in thirty minute increments. Thus, I am able to offer lessons of varying lengths. However, I would appreciate longer sessions. I thank you for your time and consideration and look forward to being at your service!

My subjects include:
ACT, SAT, PSAT, NMSQT - undergraduate admissions
GMAT, GRE - graduate admissions
ISEE, HSPT, SSAT, TACHS, COOP - high school admissions
ASVAB, AFQT, ASTB-E, OAR - armed forces placement
TOEFL, IELTS, TOEIC - English as a Second Language
PARCC, AIR AST, OAA, OGT, ITBS, STAAR, GED, HiSET, TABE - proficiency
HESI-A2, ATI TEAS V, NLN-PAX-RN, C-NET-RN, NET, DAT - nursing and dental

Mathematics: algebra I and II, geometry, trigonometry, pre-algebra, elementary
English: grammar, vocabulary, spelling, reading, writing, listening, speaking, pronunciation, ESL, ESOL
Research Papers: editing, proofreading, outlining, analyzing, citations
Computer: Excel, Word, PowerPoint, QuickBooks
Special Needs: ADHD, Dyslexia, Autism, Asperger's, study skills
Music: theory, ear training, sight singing, improvisation, saxophone
Job Seeking: resume writing, cover letters, T-Letters, LinkedIn, job search techniques
Professional Services: bookkeeping, AP/AR, property management, office automation

*** Studio Equipment ***
Microsoft Windows and Macintosh Laptops

*** Travel Equipment ***
Microsoft Windows and Macintosh Laptops
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Maya September 19, 2017
· GRE · Online
Very helpful in explaining math concepts! He helped me raise my verbal score from a 149 to a 158 in just 2 weeks!
Silhouette-80
Sara S. September 7, 2017
· Microsoft Excel · Online
He was very helpful and pointed out issues that could be much better. He gave me the help that I was looking for...very nice person. I will continue to get help from him for sure.
Silhouette-80
Rafi August 21, 2017
· Algebra · In home
Matt was very efficient, on time, got down to the task straight away and knew his subject matter. My son really liked him. I highly recommend Matt.
View Details
View Profile
Matthew H.

Matthew H.

Cleveland, OH 44114
(11)
starting at
$35 / 30-min

About John K.

Close
Profile_109526_pi_Lauren%20%26%20Mike-211
Los Angeles, CA
View Full Profile

ESL is a matter of sharing life lessons. Students already possess their own special talents and are full of life experiences from their L1 learnings. I will teach English as an L2 tool by sharing my life experiences, thereby making your life that much richer in language. In this day and age with texting and digital communication, the "Art of Communication" has been lost. My desire is to enthusiastically share my experiences in this lost art. Coming out of my lessons, students will have the confidence in their ability to express themselves comfortably within the American culture.

About John
Hi, my name is John Kim, and I am an experienced native American English teacher. I am a retired US Army Lieutenant Colonel with American diplomatic certifications in Japan and Korea. I have taught
myself to be proficient in 5 languages. I taught Beginner, Intermediate, and Advanced TOEFL English levels formally in school classrooms of 10-17 students. And of course, 1-on-1 private lessons also. You know that the four dreaded skills: reading, writing, listening, and speaking are required in English schools, and you have already heard it over and over in your previous school lessons. Now, let me show you and share with you a different level of learning...called the "Art of Communication".
...
View Details
View Profile
John K.

John K.

Online
starting at
$50 / 60-min

About Adriana M.

Close
Profile_111227_pi_IMG_6487
Wilmington, DE

View Full Profile

Learning English is not an easy task but with me I will make sure that your journey is an enjoyable one. My lessons incorporate a variety of methods-speaking, reading, listening and writing. I am also happy to create lessons that address your specific needs.

About Adriana
I have a passion for learning languages and love sharing it with others. With over 17 years of teaching experience I am sure to make your journey fun and interesting. Besides teaching I love reading,
traveling, hiking and cooking.
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Deborah September 4, 2017
· Italian · In home
I had a wonderful time learning with Adriana before my recent trip to Italy. It was my first time, and I thought it would be nice to know some useful phrases before I went. Not only is Adriana an excellent teacher of the Italian language (I was only able to just tap into her expertise given the little time I gave us before my trip), but she also has extensive knowledge of Italian culture. My time in Italy was so much more meaningful thanks to our lessons. I can't recommend her highly enough! Buon divertimento!
View Details
View Profile
Adriana M.

Adriana M.

Online
(1)
starting at
$59 / 30-min

About Neda S.

Close
Profile_111454_pi_Neda%201%20%282%29
Newport, OR
View Full Profile

I am an academic curriculum designer, so I can design your own lesson plan considering your specific wants, needs and learning style. your plan will be a mix of online classes and self study . In this way you won't need to pay for everything you learn. You will be able to manage your study plan.

About Neda
I have completed my doctorate degree in teaching English as a second language (TESL) in 2012, and have been active in teaching English as a second language since I was an undergraduate student in 1990
s. Considering my experience and education I have an excellent theoretical knowledge in teaching English language and English literacy and communication training, supported and expanded by about 20 years of experience in Language teaching to students from different ages, countries and proficiency levels.

Working as a lecturer and language tutor in Iran and Malaysia, I have worked with students with divers linguistic, ethnic and cultural background, including Chinese, Indian, Malay and Farsi speakers. My classes are productive, friendly and fun.

I have a strong background in both theoretical and practical aspects of language teaching and experience working with students from diverse backgrounds.

Are you tired of boring classes and same old teaching methods?
Come Let's have fun in learning your way.
I'll design you a personal course based on your needs.
...
View Details
View Profile
Neda S.

Neda S.

Online
starting at
$20 / 30-min

How it Works

From finding the perfect teacher to managing payments, scheduling and tracking your progress, we take care of all the details, so you can focus on learning. Learn More

Search for a teacher

Compare hundreds of teachers based on the criteria that matter to you, including background checks, age and experience.

Schedule your lessons

When you've found the perfect match, schedule your lessons online using the teacher's real-time availability.

Connect with your teacher

Your teacher will welcome you with a personalized curriculum to meet your specific goals and you'll be able to manage your entire schedule through our free online account.

Can't find a teacher in Lakewood, OH?

No problem. Our online lesson platform connects you with any teacher, anywhere. All you need is a reliable Internet connection, a webcam and a microphone.

Convenient

Zero travel time is great for a busy schedule.

Affordable

Typically priced lower than local lessons.

Effective

Online students stick with lessons as long as local students.

Learn More

Are You a Teacher?

Find out how TakeLessons can help you grow and manage your business

Learn More