Aviston Music Lessons

Looking for private in-home or in-studio lessons? Our Aviston teachers are ready to get you started. Find your teacher today!

Featured On

How it Works

From finding the perfect teacher to managing payments, scheduling and tracking your progress, we take care of all the details, so you can focus on learning. Learn More

Search for a teacher

Compare hundreds of teachers based on the criteria that matter to you, including background checks, age and experience.

Schedule your lessons

When you've found the perfect match, schedule your lessons online using the teacher's real-time availability.

Connect with your teacher

Your teacher will welcome you with a personalized curriculum to meet your specific goals and you'll be able to manage your entire schedule through our free online account.

Can't find a teacher in Aviston?

No problem. Our online lesson platform connects you with any teacher, anywhere. All you need is a reliable Internet connection, a webcam and a microphone.

Convenient

Zero travel time is great for a busy schedule.

Affordable

Typically priced lower than local lessons.

Effective

Online students stick with lessons as long as local students.

Learn More

Music Lesson Reviews from Students

Students are raving about their Music instructors on TakeLessons. Check out some of these recent reviews.

And they're not alone!

Our teachers have taught

2 , 2 3 7 , 7 0 2

lessons and counting!

Popular Music Teachers near Aviston

Check out some of our most popular teachers near Aviston including Germantown, Trenton, Breese, Albers and Summerfield.

Showing 10 of 200+ results View More

About Peter C.

Close
271675_txzl6chssyf53nkl9hyx
Goodyear, AZ
View Full Profile
About Peter
I began piano lessons at four years of age, and was blessed to have an amazing piano teacher, who taught me for 14 years. She gave me a passion to teach others and impart to them a love for music. I have carried on that calling and taught hundreds of adults and children over the last 30 years. I am very thorough in my method and customize each lesson around the goals and dreams of each student. I incorporate theory, ear training and technical into all my lessons, regardless of the style of music they are learning. This gives my students an all-round musical education and appreciation for this wonderful gift they have in their hands.

I have experience in the professional music world as a pianist and french horn player, performing with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Australian Opera Chorus and Orchestra, Sydney Sinfonia, Sydney Philharmo
nic Orchestra and Choir, as well as productions of "Cats", "Phantom of the Opera", Sesame Street, and touring all over Australia, U.S.A. and Israel. I have also been a part of the worship teams at Hillsong Church and C3 Church Australia.

I studied at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, and also received my Licentiate Diploma from the Trinity College of London (L.T.C.L.) in French Horn (Teaching) and Licentiate Diploma from the Trinity College of London (L.T.C.L.) in Piano (Performance). So my experience not only comes from an inspiring teacher, but also from hundreds of performances on stages across the world working with the finest of musicians, singers, conductors and worship leaders.

I love music, and more so, love imparting it to others.

*** Lesson Details ***
Students come away from their lessons inspired and excited about their ability to accomplish their dreams. Whether it is to play 'Phantom of the Opera' or an Adele song, Debussy's Claire De Lune or Jingle Bells, I show them how to do it and help them get there. I am very thorough, taking no short cuts, but making it fun to learn an instrument. You will be amazed at what you are playing in three to six months!

*** Specialties ***
Classical, Jazz, Rock, Contemporary Christian
...
Reviews
Thumb_116365_pi_574F78F8-A11E-4713-B1CA-0526B48DF513
Dennis C. November 21, 2017
· Acoustic Guitar · In home
Peter was able to improve my strumming technique and provide me with a better understanding of the guitar scales as they relate to specific keys during the first lesson!
Silhouette-80
Sam October 7, 2016
· Bass Guitar · In studio
Peter is a down to earth pro. It has been a pleasure to learn under him.
Silhouette-80
Abby July 30, 2016
· Singing · In home
We have only been to one lesson, but already love Peter! His enthusiasm, kindness and encouragement, made the lesson so fun! It is obvious he Is very experienced in music and understands how to teach well. We are so blessed to have found him!
View Details
View Profile
Peter C.

Peter C.

Online
(12)
starting at
$30 / 30-min

About Cosima Y.

Close
Profile_67425_pi_Screen%20Shot%202015-03-30%20at%204.06.21%20PM
Moreno Valley, CA

View Full Profile
About Cosima
My specialty is voice but I also teach acoustic guitar, ukulele and songwriting for the student who desires to develop their own style and create their own songs. Not only is it fun but the music education that comes with it is highly valuable for future musicians. (guitar and ukulele rentals available at an additional cost to the student)

For students who are just beginning their vocal journey or are busy performers who want to improve healthy technique and sing with more confidence; or perhaps a worship leader or backup singer is struggling with vocal strain, my goal is to help them find vocal freedom and maintain an amazing, healthy voice that will confidently meet their expectations, year after year, in every situation, every time.

As an active performing vocalist, musician, songwriter, and Christian worship artist and band lea
der, I understand the demands and challenges of a busy performance calendar, singing sets for back-to-back audiences day after day and week after week, and the need for a vocalist to find the vocal freedom that will produce confidence in their voice no matter what the venue.

The first steps to mastering vocal freedom are the building blocks for vocal success. Whether the student is a child or an adult, with little or no training, it is my goal to make singing an enjoyable and freeing experience.

Singing with complete vocal freedom and confidence can seem very elusive. Surprisingly, it's not as elusive as one might think! Vocal freedom is within reach and most students experience a measure of it within the few first lessons, some even gaining a full octave in their range in their first lessons. Using a systematic method incorporating the study of good vocal technique and working on songs the student loves to sing makes learning more fun and gives the student a greater appreciation of music as a whole while encouraging a passion for music that lasts a lifetime. I encourage and teach sight reading, and theory basics especially for those students who are considering music as a profession.

*** Lesson Details ***
Each student learns with material that will be divided into step-by-step doable lessons so they can be sure to learn the best techniques and material along the way. Sheet music and lesson books are provided at a minimal additional cost.

*** Studio Equipment ***
My home-studio is bright and open and set up with an upright piano, full length mirror, music stand, iPad with appropriate applications, guitar, mandolin, ukulele, and computer for recording and playback. Parents are welcome to sit in on lessons or wait for their children in the adjacent room. I also may provide a follow-up email which includes any recordings and lesson notes from the current lesson.

As the student progresses I also provide a PA system to teach mic technique and build performance confidence.

I ask that students come prepared with the following items to their lessons.
~ Bottled water
~ A ring binder with paper for notes and a zippered pouch to keep tools and handouts.
~ A flash drive for recording transfers or they can use their phone or other recording device to record their lessons.
~

*** Specialties ***
I honestly love my students and love teaching! It's such a privilege to be a part of their musical journey. I specialize in church worship vocals, choir, a capella, show tunes and musical theater. I teach free, healthy vocal technique which enables each student to explore and focus on different styles of singing. I also love teaching young voices especially teens who want to have a good time learning to sing.

NOTE ~ My teaching style is more structured therefore some young children may not be ready to take lessons with me.
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Tabith A. December 7, 2017
· Singing · In studio
This was the first lesson. There was a lot of education, but it seems important to understand the process. Looking forward to the next lesson.
Silhouette-80
Kali B. October 12, 2016
· Singing · In studio
She made my daughter feel very comfortable. Looking forward to more classes.
Silhouette-80
Stephanie April 30, 2016
· Vocal Training · In home
I have had my first few lessons with Cosima and she has been absolutely amazing. I am a beginner and she has made me feel comfortable throughout the entire process. Very professional, informative, and dedicated to her students. I look forward to more lessons with Cosima.
View Details
View Profile
Cosima Y.

Cosima Y.

Online
(16)
starting at
$30 / 30-min

About Kevin Z.

Close
Profile_61136_pi_KevinZ9%20transparency
Aurora, CO
View Full Profile
About Kevin
Kevin Z. - Musician and Composer

Don't look too hard for a teacher now, you've already found him. So what are you waiting for? Stop reading this and contact TakeLessons already. It's all about having fun with music, so come on over, and let's rock. If you must know more go ahead. Keep reading.
But then call, got it? That's your first assignment:-)

*Studied guitar with Neil Haverstick at Swallow Hill Music Academy
*Studied guitar with Todd Keehn at his own TK studios
*Studied with Dave Martone at American Jewish University

*Six String Theory Rock Guitar Competition top 5 of 2011
*Guitar Player Guitar Superstar top ten of 2010
*Guitar World magazine top ten shred the web of 2009

*Over 25 years experience including teaching, live performances, songwriting, and studio recordings.

*** Lesson Details ***
My instruction area
is spot on. The store and studio provide an exceptional learning environment and contains amplifiers, and all types of guitars. We have the latest technology in keyboards, and the use of a drum machine makes the lesson more fun utilizing the feel of being in a band while helping you to improve your rhythm. The private rooms are sound proof so our students can experience the full impact of cranking up an amp and making music.

My teaching style is laid back and comfortable. Focus is on teaching students how to teach themselves
You'll learn: music theory, music sight reading, chords, chord progressions, melody, harmony, technique, and much more.

*** Specialties ***
Electric guitar, Acoustic guitar, Classical guitar, songwriting, demo recording, demo production, heavy metal, rock, music theory including sight reading, piano, ukulele, bass guitar.

Okay, that's it. Go ahead and make the call/email to schedule your first lesson. See you soon! - Kevin Z
...
Reviews
Thumb_94766_pi_if%20I%20had%20no%20nose
Daisy R. August 27, 2016
· Bass Guitar · In studio
Well, so far this is only my first bass lesson, so I didn't even know if I would like it. But I must say I'm more excited than ever! Kevin is clearly a virtuoso player, with a pleasant, relaxed demeanor, clear teaching style, and the best sense of humor. That really takes any edge off any nervousness. I'm looking forward to the next one!
Silhouette-80
Kurt S. May 12, 2016
· Guitar · In studio
Very knowledgeable! excellent at teaching guitar.
Silhouette-80
Megan F. February 4, 2015
· Ukulele · In studio
Very helpful with tips and tricks for a beginning student.
View Details
View Profile
Kevin Z.

Kevin Z.

Online
(14)
starting at
$24 / 30-min

About Patrick L.

Close
Profile_95157_pi_Patrick-Lopez-teaches-Piano
Asheville, NC

View Full Profile
About Patrick
Hi there, my name is Patrick, and I am now a new resident of the Asheville area. I am a music teacher of Trumpet, Piano, Voice and Sound Recording with more than 20 plus years of experience. Below, I relate some of my experiences and philosophies as a teacher of music since 2002.

*** Lesson Details ***
Trumpet Lessons
I have worked with adults and children, with beginners, and with more experienced players looking for a push or a new direction. I have developed many different teaching methods based on what each of my students wants to get out of lessons. The heart of most lessons I teach is learning to play or understand songs. Usually, I rely on my students to select the songs they wish to study, which I then transcribe to make personal arrangements fitted to their abilities. Of course, I will suggest or recommend songs at times.
I also supply relevant exercises and music theory to accelerate the learning process.

Piano Lessons
I differentiate between concepts and skills, while stressing the importance of mastering both. As important as it is to understand the intervalic relationships in something like the major scale, this knowledge does little for the pianist if she or he cannot pick out the notes to the different scales in real time. In observing that each person demonstrates unique learning patterns and abilities, I have learned that some people will come to understand the conceptual through mastery of memorized tasks while some will succeed with technical mastery only after achieving some conceptual understanding.
Voice Lessons
Having first begun singing at 22 years old, I know first hand that it’s never to late to start singing. Having some experience in school but not fully as a professional till in my 20′s, I have learned from some of the top professionals in the South Florida area. My first vocal lessons was with Gloria Estefan’s back up singer Jon Secada. Jon has his first hit “Just Another Day” that stayed at #1 for several weeks. His one lesson really helped me use singing in my gigging around town. From that time on, I have used this technique for all my students. focusing on JUST BREATHING, has helped many of my students.

Teaching Sound Recording
Working in the early 1980s with recorded music and computers, I was introduced to the new wave of recording at its birth. At Miami Dade Community College, I taught and assisted students in Composition, Sound Development, and Sound Recording using Mac computers and PC’s. As of this day, I personally teach recording in Logic Pro, Bias Peak and Mastering using Waves plug ins and having finished products in Mp4 format and or CD’s.

*** Studio Equipment ***
Mac with logic pro software instruments, piano seating for parents

*** Travel Equipment ***
expect students to provide paper and pencil and put in practice time on their respected instruments at least 30 min a week

*** Specialties ***
Alfred,Hanon,Rubank Advanced Method for instruments.
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Andrew G. August 1, 2016
· Piano · In home
Great first lesson for my 9 year old son. Patrick is friendly, professional, and kept my son interested and engaged.
Silhouette-80
Tino B. May 18, 2016
· Piano · In studio
Looking forward to more sessions with this guy! I've composed two new records since i had a session with him, it seems like he's helped me from overthinking that this is hard and with all the technology there is today its just simple. just do it!
Silhouette-80
Tino B. May 15, 2016
· Piano · In studio
Hello music world this is Tino b here! I want to let everyone out there who is interested in taking their music to the next level and is searching for someone to help them do so, well look no further Patrick Lopez can help you do so. My first
lesson with him gave me my confidence back and has me producing music on a totally different/higher level.
Better writing and music composition is what im learning,
how to listen to today's music melodies and transform them into a sound of my own. Check him out!
View Details
View Profile
Patrick L.

Patrick L.

Online
(22)
starting at
$30 / 30-min

About Catherine B.

Close
253745_bkwlkrd6wjzh8wkg88wt
Greenville, IL
View Full Profile
About Catherine
ALREADY BACKGROUND CHECKED PIANIST/MUSIC EDUCATOR
Areas of strength: accompanying or collaborative piano, performance, pedagogy, clarinet performance and pedagogy. music ministry, vocal coaching, ear training and sight reading

Over 15 years in music performance and music education. Extensive multicultural and international performance, instruction and public relations activities. Additional credentials in popular/jazz voice, keyboards, beginning guitar and clarinet. Expertise and certification in business and music technology, MIDI, notation software, interactive musical software. Over ten years teaching experience in college, university, and community college settings, and in commercial, private or public school studios.

Background has been checked for my existing employment at Greenville College and at Lebanon United Methodist Ch
urch. I passed with flying colors! Just call them to see this.

*** Lesson Details ***
I am a conservatory taught pianist who loves jazz and popular show music and improvisation. I hope my ability to exemplify the highest standards of musicianship inspires my students. I will not push a student beyond their own level of interest and desires, I believe we all have a gold mine within us and only need the help of another to see and obtain the best that is there. I have a doctorate in pedagogy studies, I am able to create a curriculum for each student and utilize methods that are readily available to everyone who chooses to benefit from them.

*** Studio Equipment ***
Photos of the grand piano, keyboards, sound system and computer software are posted with my students

*** Travel Equipment ***
ipad recording/lesson curriculum/students need instrument for practice

*** Specialties ***
piano, contemporary music
...
Reviews
253744_x25zzz9y9tg7kztwvjhm
Catherine B. February 14, 2013
· Piano ·
so much fun!

This teacher has a great time with her students as they learn keyboards, piano, theory, singing and basic skills on percussion and woodwind instruments. She can show beginning guitarists the chords and strums, too. We perform with the teacher at different places for youth group events, recitals, even musical theater shows. I hope I keep learning music the rest of my life.
View Details
View Profile
Catherine B.

Catherine B.

Greenville, IL 62246
(1)
starting at
$20 / 30-min
View More
View Previous

About Billy N.

Close
414148_f3449xykpcyjg2twc92z
Brooklyn, NY
View Full Profile
About Billy
Billy N. has played Jazz, Brazilian and Classical music in the NYC area for the last 20 years. He has actively taught both finger-style and pick guitar for the last 20 years. He was on staff at the American Institute of Guitar for 11 years. His book on Brazilian Guitar is published by Alfred Music and currently available. He now offers online lessons via Skype as well as in his private studio. Playing credits include many museums and clubs in the NY area including Museum of Modern Art Museum of the City of NY and an extended stay at the Guggenheim museum in the Summer of 2000. Also he has been in the Brooklyn Museum concert series with his group Afinidades Bronx Libraries Brooklyn College and the Jewish Museum in trio and duo setting with great Percussionist Vanderlei Pereira. He has performed in Brazil as well most recently in the South
of Brazil,  receiving TV and radio coverage. He has also done workshops and performed at the Conservatory of the state of Pernambuco. In August 2004 he performed weekly at Rio Scenarium in Rio de Janeiro. His Band Brooklyn Brazil Bop has played at Joe's Pub as well as Central Park Festival. His band the Brazilian Acoustic ensemble performs periodically at 'Barbes' an important performance space in Brooklyn NY. In 2007 he gave a successful jazz workshop and concert in the city of Florianopolis Brazil. Billy has been awarded 3 prestigious composer's residencies 2006 - Yaddo and 2007 - The MacDowell Colony. He was featured on the PBS news hour during his residence at MacDowell. In 2008 he was awarded another MacDowell residency and followed this with a 3 hour appearance presenting his compositions live on WKCR Jazz Radio and another live radio appearance with band in 2010. Billy regularly plays in many venues around NY in Jazz trio settings as well as with Brazilian vocalists and instrumentalists. Most Recently his groups have been performing at the famed Cornelia Street Cafe in New York City. He also specializes in solo guitar and can double on percussion (Pandeiro) and Cavaquinho. Billy has completed two CD's of his original music and an EP of his original Choro music. He has a BFA in Jazz Performance from CCNY.

Testimonials:
From Coda Magazine August 2012: by Seton Hawkins

Through outstanding collaborations like the Brazilian Acoustic Ensemble, guitarist and composer Billy N has emerged as a leading exponent of the music of Brazil. Exploring far beyond the well-trodden bossa nova path. Billy unearths the full range of styles the country offers, including choro, baiào, valsa and samba, and gives American audiences a rich panoramic glimpse into Brazilian art, highlighting its parallels with progressive jazz.

A recipient of composers residencies at Yaddo and MacDowell Colony, he is the curator of a three-day series at the club dedicated to the country's music. Billy will showcase his own group—a sextet with drummer Matt Kane, bassist Leco Reis, saxophonists Michael Attias and Eric Schugren and trumpeter Ben Holmes—in a concert primarily featuring his original works. SH

Reviews of my Book on Alfred Brazil: Guitar Atlas,  I love this series and this is the best of the six titles I have. Billy really knows his stuff; the analysis of time at the beginning is superb: something I now use in my teaching. This is definitely for intermediate and higher guitarists, but the pieces are worth the effort to get right, and the accompanying CD shows you what you are aiming for. This is as good as my other Brazilian guitar book (by Nelson Faria) and much more compact and easier to follow. Highly recommended!

#2

This book is essential homework for students of Brazilian guitar. It is one of the best resources out there, along with Nelson Faria's "The Brazilian Guitar Book." The original etudes are not only instructional, but are nice pieces in their own right. An excellent value.

*** Lesson Details ***
I've taught all levels over 20 years both in NYC and Brazil. I work with the material that the student wants and also through recordings and charts introduce much music that the student might have been unfamiliar with. My lessons are catered to the individual. There is no obstacle anyone has that is too great to work through. My approach to rhythmic training has helped many. I have simple way of breaking down the guitar fingerboard which can used as a guide to learn harmony. I'll get you into the horizontal aspects of guitar, traveling across the neck, making music across one string as well, mastering the guitar in a small fret range - " vertical position playing".

*** Studio Equipment ***
I have guitar for the student, either electric or nylon. Cavaquinho students bring their instrument. First time students must bring their instrument so I can see what they are playing on.

*** Specialties ***
Brazilian Fingerstyle - Choro, Samba, Baiao Solo
Jazz Guitar - Pick or Fingers
Beginning Flamenco
Cavaquinho
Improvisation for any instrument
Harmony and Theory
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Flaminia D. May 12, 2015
· Acoustic Guitar · In home
I have been taking lessons with Billy since January 2015. I am a total beginner and I really think I have made the best choice ever to pick him as my teacher. Billy is an experienced guitar teacher and a professional player that knows great techniques for beginners. He has been teaching me basics of guitar in a smart way, and at each lesson I feel I learn something new and at the same time I can clearly see how much progress I have made since our first lesson. He has also been teaching me how to read music and tabs which proofed to be extremely useful every time I want to learn a new song by myself. Highly recommended!
Silhouette-80
Lynn W. December 17, 2014
· Guitar · In studio
I cannot recommend Billy enough. I studied jazz improvisation with Billy for three years, and later returned to study Brazilian guitar and Piedmont-style finger picking with him. I had been playing for more than twenty years when I started studying with him and he not only helped me improve my playing technically and creatively (on electric and nylon stringed guitars) but also expanded my knowledge of theory and helped me develop new approaches to composing and arranging. I am still working with the material he gave me and take lessons from him whenever my schedule allows.
Silhouette-80
felicia D. October 17, 2014
· Brazilian Guitar · In home
I took Brazilian guitar lessons from Billy for several years. His method focuses on absorbing the many rhythms of Brazil and translating them from percussion instruments to the guitar. Much of his effort is devoted on achieving the elusive Brazilian swing, which non Brazilians need to learn. Billy is excellent in breaking down the rhythms and explaining them. He even has a book out on his method. He covers various Brazilian genres: choro, bossa nova, samba, baiao and more.
Billy also is an accomplished jazz, classical and flamenco guitarist with a thorough understanding of harmony and improvisation. He is very patient and has years of teaching and performance experience. You will be lucky to study with him!
View Details
View Profile
Billy N.

Billy N.

Online
(11)
starting at
$60 / 45-min

About Gabrielle A.

Close
Profile_86488_pi_Armenier-179%20-%20Copy%20%282%29
Spring Valley, NY
View Full Profile
About Gabrielle
A violinist is a musical knight: the round shield which once protected the heart has become a sound-resonating violin, the linear sword a bow, yet the fundamental gestures are the same. The active right directs according to linear rules, the left spirals inwards.

Dear Student,

My name is Gabrielle A. I am French, in my mid-twenties, and hold a MA in education. Simple, to the point, confident, smiling and fun, I engage quickly and well with those around me.

While teaching a standard violin apprenticeship curriculum, I approach the instrument from the perspective of movement: what qualitative gesture is at play behind a particular stroke or fingering?

Imagine playing violin according to lines of force, directions and qualities of movement between the right and the left! Musical sound, and its higher sibling tone, are born from
the qualitative interplay between right and left meeting in the human chest.
By inwardly experiencing the instrument as a threefold instrument (violin, bow and violinist) we can step away from the view that the violin is 'somewhere out there', a foreign object to be more or less painfully mastered.

I believe that as instrumentalists we ourselves are a part of the tone we produce.
I will therefore look with you at the kinesiology behind a correct posture and encourage you to experience the playing process as a circle between the violin, the bow and the violinist.

I hope to hear from you, meet you, and work with you!

Yours sincerely,
Gabrielle
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Sunnie T. October 17, 2017
· French · Online
Silhouette-80
Anthony W. September 6, 2017
· French · Online
Silhouette-80
Zach August 17, 2017
· French · Online
Gabrielle is great at teaching my 9 year old french. She makes his lessons fun and keeps him engaged so that he always looks forward to his lessons. She does a great job engaging with the interests of her students, instead of sticking to a rigid lesson plan and losing the student. For example, quietly inserting verb conjugation and tense training into the telling of a story her student is determined to share with her. She really works with the kid's interests and gets their buy-in and engagement.
View Details
View Profile
Gabrielle A.

Gabrielle A.

Online
(16)
starting at
$40 / 30-min

About Dawn S.

Close
Profile_85444_pi_12308293_878093268965020_3740780962171495214_n
O Fallon, IL

View Full Profile
About Dawn
I have a Bachelor's Degree in Music Education and a Master's Degree in Music Performance. I also performed as a musician with a military band for over 20 years, performing on oboe, English horn, saxophone, percussion, piano/synthesizer, and as a vocalist. I have been teaching privately for over 20 years and enjoy working one on one with students.
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Leathia R. S. December 2, 2017
· Oboe · Online
Sure enjoy all the help Dawn gives us. Dawn is very patient .
Silhouette-80
Leathia R. S. November 4, 2017
· Oboe · Online
Fantastic fun class. Thanks for all your help.
Silhouette-80
Briana J. October 4, 2017
· Oboe · Online
View Details
View Profile
Dawn S.

Dawn S.

O Fallon, IL 62269
(24)
starting at
$20 / 30-min

About Mona S.

Close
Profile_86840_pi_sangesland%20headshot
Boston, MA

View Full Profile
About Mona
I'm an active flutist and Japanese enthusiast living in Boston! I recently graduated from the University of Washington with a flute performance degree and Japanese minor and am now pursuing graduate studies at the New England Conservatory. I believe that learning music should be fun and inspiring, but that 95% of artistry is simply hard work! I, therefore, create a positive and encouraging environment for all of my students, while still setting challenging goals. Additionally, I tailor my teaching to fit each student’s needs so that learning potential can be maximized. Stylistic choices in musical expression/phrasing are encouraged through the incorporation of music theory, music history, and ear training skills into lessons. I also believe that body awareness is important, and will include stretches and practice methods into each lesson,
so students can practice efficiently and prevent injuries!

I grew up speaking both Japanese and English and welcome beginning Japanese students!
...
Reviews
Thumb_107356_pi_Screenshot_2017-06-26-15-54-44
Rebecca July 9, 2017
· Japanese · Online
Mona knows what she's doing and is very kind. Not only are the links that she sends you during the lesson helpful but she explains when you'd use the words and helps you understand the appropriate situations for when you use them. She is very friendly and a wonderful teacher that will listen to your questions and answer them and her answers are never halfhearted. I completely would recommend her as a Japanese tutor/Instructor if you wish to learn how to speak and write Japanese while still having that relaxing environment.
Silhouette-80
Sean June 13, 2017
· Japanese · Online
Lessons are going great and my son is learning a lot fast!
Thumb_97684_pi_images
Yousef M. January 4, 2017
· Japanese · Online
that my 2 clas I like it. she is good she tray to tech me like how I want to learn. bout this time she is knot that active. bout I stell recommend hear for you.
View Details
View Profile
Mona S.

Mona S.

Online
(4)
starting at
$20 / 30-min

About Elyse K.

Close
Profile_116536_pi_74B764E5-9183-45A2-8DA9-9DBACD1A0E2F
Sugar Land, TX
View Full Profile
About Elyse
Who has music and teaching as their biggest passion?

See below... :)

Hello, Parents & Students!
My name is Elyse (the answer is me!), and I teach a wide array of great (mainly musical) things! Thank you for checking out my page!
A few key points to know about me:
*I graduated from Kent State University (Kent, OH) in December, 2009, with my Bachelor of Music in Music Education degree (Magna cum Laude).
*I’ve taught music in small ensembles and marching band camps since July, 2007.
*I taught from 2010-2016 in the Texas Public Schools as a General Music teacher/Choir Director.
*I taught theatre for one year.
*I am a VERY enthusiastic, fun-loving teacher who enjoys laughter and bringing smiles to my students.
*I do, however, structure our lessons in such a way that we have that fun while remaining on track.
*The Clarinet was m
y instrument of study in college.
*RANDOM: I love to read, sing, and listen to music, I love cats, chocolate, and my family/friends. Pink is my favorite color, and Hanson is my favorite band!
*My most recent new student, after his second lesson, asked if he could take piano more than once a week because “it’s so fun!” 😊

***Philosophy***
—If you're going to make a mistake, make a loud one!—

-My students know (I make sure of this) right off the bat that it's okay to make mistakes! My philosophy is: YOU make mistakes. Mistakes don't make YOU. We fix them together, and we learn together. Also: never apologize for making a mistake; that is why we’re working together and you’re practicing at home!

***Teaching Style***
-I'm definitely a fun-loving, outgoing person.
-My teaching style is tailored to each of my students;
- I try to think-outside-the-box as much as possible and utilize creativity.
-I talk as little as possible in lessons; my goal is for the student to play as much as possible. With beginners, I may have to talk a bit more.
-I often model for the student what they should do: example: middle c position on the piano.
-If seeing ME isn’t enough for my visual learners, I will utilize a video clip.
-For my tactile learners, sometimes I have to move their fingers into position myself.
-For my sound learners, I will play or sing a pitch, show them the slide position or fingering to that note, and have them try to match it by ear.
-I also question my students.
-I have many other techniques as well.
-I am VERY much pro Positive Reinforcement!

*** Lesson details ***
-I am NOT a rigid teacher; I am pretty relaxed.
-However, I am VERY adamant about practicing between lessons - no matter what type of instrument you may be learning. It is the only way to improve. :)
-We will ALWAYS begin with a warm-up, we may/may not move into rhythm exercises, possible ear training, music theory, and your music.
-The list of all that I teach is on my page, but I teach all wind instruments (woodwind/brass), piano, and voice. I also teach acting techniques and improvisation skills.

***Students’ responsibility:***
-Daily practice is strongly recommended. It is important and necessary for steady progress.
-For piano lessons, students should have neat, clean, trimmed nails at every lesson.
-Students should bring water to voice lessons.
-Reed players should ensure they have working/non-cracked reeds.
-Brass players should ensure all valves/slides are oiled/greased.
-Students must be prepared for each lesson.

***Parents’ responsibility:***
-Parents should remain until their child’s lesson is complete.
-Parents should regularly check and support the students practice routine.

*** Studio Equipment ***
-One Yamaha keyboard w/pedal; space for parents to sit and observe lessons.
-Music stand
-Square chairs to sit on

IMPORTANT NOTE: My home, where my studio is located, is inhabited by four very sweet cats. Keep this in mind when you plan to sign up for lessons. :)
...
Reviews
Silhouette-80
Abdullah December 4, 2017
· Piano · In home
My son has had 5 sessions with Elyse which he has enjoyed very much. She is professional and caring. My son looks forward to his piano lessons every week.
Silhouette-80
Allie September 12, 2017
· Piano · In home
Miss Elyse is FUN and so funny! My lessons with her go by too fast. She gives me really good practice tips about playing hands apart, then slowly adding them together. Miss Elyse got me to use my metronome the right way, too. My music is fun too.
Silhouette-80
Clayton July 18, 2017
· Trombone · In studio
Very friendly and worked well with my son on his very first lesson
View Details
View Profile
Elyse K.

Elyse K.

Online
(14)
starting at
$28 / 30-min

Recent Music Articles from the Blog

Whether you're just starting out or a seasoned pro, check out the Music articles on our blog.

You Know You’re a Violin Player When…

You Know You’re a Violin Player When…

Let’s face it; not everyone can be a violin player. It takes a certain individual to master such a complex instrument that requires immense dedication and concentration. From rough finger tips to grueling practice sessions, violin players are challenged both physically and mentally whenever they step onto the stage. Whether you’ve just started taking violin lessons or you’re a seasoned violin player, chances are you can relate to more than one of the following things… 1. Every piece o … Read More

You Know You’re a Violin Player When…
Let’s face it; not everyone can be a violin player. It takes a certain individual to master such a complex instrument that requires immense dedication and concentration. From rough finger tips to grueling practice sessions, violin players are challenged both physically and mentally whenever they step onto the stage. Whether you’ve just started taking violin lessons or you’re a seasoned violin player, chances are you can relate to more than one of the following things… 1. Every piece o
Video: How to Sing Better (Almost) Instantly | Singing Tips
Want to know how to sing better in a short amount of time? There are a few simple tips and tricks you can do that will instantly improve your sound. You'd be surprised at how easy they are! Two of the best techniques to practice if you want to sing better are maintaining correct posture and giving yourself proper breath support. See what we mean in the video below by talented vocal coach Arlys A.: How to Sing Better Instantly As you saw in the video, there are two foundations of sing
The Ultimate Guide to Singing Styles and Genres
There are so many different singing styles and genres out there -- how do you keep track of them? What are the best vocal exercises for singers of each genre? Music teacher Heather L. answers these questions and more in this ultimate guide...   We, as human beings, have been singing since we discovered that we had voices. Of course, a lot about singing has changed since that time. Different cultures around the world through the centuries came up with their own scales and modes, an
Vocal Health: The Important Tip That Will Save Your Voice in Rehearsals
Lots of rehearsals coming up? Feeling under the weather? In this article, singing teacher Elaina R. shares an important vocal health tip that can save your voice!    The tenor in my professional vocal quintet is named Mark. It’s a perfectly good name, but for a singer it can be frustrating. Nearly every day someone announces that they are going to “mark,” and poor Mark gets confused. Sometimes even Mark has to mark. What the heck am I talking about? Marking is an important skil
5 Easy Ways to Test Your Piano Skills
How can you be sure you're progressing at the right pace as you're learning to play the piano? Learn some ideas for testing your skills in this guest post by New York, NY teacher Nadia B...     Sometimes it can be challenging to know where you stand with the piano. In daily practicing, you can lose sight of where you started and how much improvement has taken place over time. Testing your piano mastery is not only a way to learn where you stand, it’s also a way to earmark futu

Get Started with Free Resources

Why TakeLessons?

Are You a Teacher?

Find out how TakeLessons can help you grow and manage your business

Learn More