Picture of Music lessons in Aviston, IL

Music Lessons
In Aviston, IL.
It's your time.

We've got everything you need to get started and stay motivated!

Search For Your Teacher

Music Lessons.
It's your Time.

Get Started

Popular Music Lessons in Aviston, IL

A Better Way to Learn

Stay motivated and see faster results with TakeLessons!

Why TakeLessons
Icon-expert

Expert Instructors

We'll match you with the perfect teacher, wherever you are.

Icon-personalized

Personalized Lessons

Your style. Your pace. Feel like a star with custom plans designed for you.

Icon-guarantee

100% Guaranteed

We're here to make sure you're thrilled. Can you feel the love?

Meet Your Match

These Music teachers are highly rated by students in the Aviston area, including Dupo, Trenton, Lebanon, East Saint Louis and Barnhart.

Miriam Angela P.

Greenville, IL 62246

Bgcheck Background Checked


About Miriam Angela

*** Studio Equipment ***
The teacher's home studio lessons are taught in the music room with piano, guitar, full-length mirror. Seating is also available.

The teacher's university studio lessons are taught in sound-proof office with piano, guitar, vocal mic, and mirrors. Seating is also available.

*** Travel Equipment ***
I provide any book or sheet music materials for myself. Students required to have instrument.

*** Specialties ***
Voice is area of expertise. Pop/jazz are performance area specialties. Musical theater, classical, pop, traditional, christian all areas with successful teaching experience.

More

View Details

Bgcheck-lg
Miriam Angela P.

Greenville, IL

About Tracy

I have been playing the drum set in various bands since 2001. I have also been playing with the OKC Community Orchestra since 2009. I have played in symphonic and jazz bands and a percussion ensemble. I have taught a percussion class, private lessons, and I have been a full time music teacher in the OKC district. I have recorded in the studio also, and I enjoy doing a bit of my own production. Rocking on stage is my favorite activity! I can teach you how to be an integral part of a band and play along to your favorites. I enjoy bringing out the best in a student and teaching to his/her strengths. Let's run!

*** Lesson Details ***
I am a very easygoing and patient teacher. I fully understand that the drum set requires a high level of coordination, and I am mindful of this while working with students. I will begin with proper gr

ip and stroke technique as well as the use of a metronome. I will teach the student to read rhythms and drum set notation. I know how to isolate difficult patterns, break them down into understandable parts, and reintegrate them into a piece. I like to use the music that a student enjoys to relate to the written music. I have found YouTube to be an indispensable tool for this, and my students have responded very well. I will work on snare drum technique as well, because it is the primary voice on the set, and the touch and nuance required to play it well relate to the set as well. I will tailor my instruction to suit the student's learning style and preferences. I want to make the learning fun, so I will help the student quickly gain the basic skills to play along with their favorite bands. This promotes musicality as well as solid time. It will also aid in transcription, which will come with development and is a valuable tool. I will use this in tandem with technique-building exercises to form a well rounded musician. I believe that a student should have a familiarity with his/her instrument, so we will also go over the anatomy and tuning of the set. Above all, music should be fun!

*** Studio Equipment ***
Music room w/ drum set, hand drums, and seating for parents

*** Travel Equipment ***
I have a practice pad, snare drum, and sticks. If a student wishes to have drum set lessons in his/her home, that instrument should be there.
**Please note** I do have a drum set in my home.

*** Specialties ***
For the drum set, I am the most experienced in rock, country, and bluegrass styles. I am comfortable with both Stevens and Burton grips for mallet instruments.

1. *** See my article on drum set tips! ***
http://takelessons.com/blog/how-to-read-drum-sheet-music
2. ***See my article about the benefits of learning drums as an adult.***
http://takelessons.com/blog/learning-to-drum-as-an-adult
3. *** See my article on Efficient Practice Methods. ***
http://takelessons.com/blog/how-to-practice-drums-z07
4. *** See my article on Coordination Exercises. ***
http://takelessons.com/blog/hand-eye-coordination-exercises-for-drummers-z07
5. *** See my article on Snare Drum Basics. ***
http://takelessons.com/blog/5-exercises-to-master-snare-drum-basics-z07
6. *** See my Gear Guide article on drum sticks. ***
http://takelessons.com/blog/which-drum-sticks-are-the-best-z07
7. *** See my Gear Guide article on Drum Sets. ***
http://takelessons.com/blog/best-drum-set-brands-z07
8. *** See my Gear Guide article on cymbals. ***
http://takelessons.com/blog/drum-cymbals-z07
9. ***See my article about different grips.***
http://takelessons.com/blog/how-to-hold-drum-sticks-z07
10. **See my article about drum apps. ***
http://takelessons.com/blog/apps-for-drummers-z07
11. **See my article about drum thrones. ***
http://takelessons.com/blog/drum-thrones-gear-for-drummers-z07
12. **See my article about nailing performances.**
http://takelessons.com/blog/drum-performance-tips-z07
13. ***See my article about rudiments.***
http://takelessons.com/blog/7-essential-drum-rudiments-z07
14. ***See my article about tuning your drums.***
http://takelessons.com/blog/drum-tuning-z07
15. ***See my article about reading drum charts/tabs.***
http://takelessons.com/blog/drum-charts-for-beginners-z07
16. ***See my article about different types of sticks/effects.***
http://takelessons.com/blog/types-of-drum-sticks-z07#comment-910418
17. ***See my article about Bass Drum Technique.***
http://takelessons.com/blog/bass-drum-technique-z07
18. ***See my article on Snare Drum Technique.***
http://takelessons.com/blog/how-to-play-snare-drum-z07
19. ***See my article on Fills.***
http://takelessons.com/blog/drum-fills-z07
20.*** See my article on Different Drum Types.***
http://takelessons.com/blog/guide_to_different_types_of_drums_z07

Recording Credits: "The Mary Rose" and "Normandie" from the album, Demos and Premiers, by Callen Clarke and Kyle Dillingham
More

Reviews
March 1, 2019
Logan
Looking forward to learning more with Tracy!
September 2, 2018
Leah
My daughter has really been enjoying her lessons with Tracy! Many thanks!
June 24, 2018
Journey L.
Grand daughter was very impressed with Tracy; said she was very nice and is very excited to continue lessons with her.

View Details

Tracy D.

Online

(22)

Catherine B.

Greenville, IL 62246

(2)

About Catherine

ALREADY BACKGROUND CHECKED INTERNATIONALLY AND THROUGH GREENVILLE UNIVERSITY as MUSIC EDUCATOR
Areas of strength: accompanying or collaborative piano, performance, pedagogy, clarinet performance and pedagogy. music ministry, vocal coaching, ear training and sight reading

Over 15 years in music performance and music education. Extensive multicultural and international performance, instruction and public relations activities. Additional credentials in popular/jazz voice, keyboards, beginning guitar and clarinet. Expertise and certification in business and music technology, MIDI, notation software, interactive musical software. Over ten years teaching experience in college, university, and community college settings, and in commercial, private or public school studios.

Background has been checked for my existing employment at Greenvil

le College and at St John United Church. I passed with flying colors! Just call them to see this.

*** Lesson Details ***
I am a conservatory taught pianist who loves jazz and popular show music and improvisation. I hope my ability to exemplify the highest standards of musicianship inspires my students. I will not push a student beyond their own level of interest and desires, I believe we all have a gold mine within us and only need the help of another to see and obtain the best that is there. I have a doctorate in pedagogy studies, I am able to create a curriculum for each student and utilize methods that are readily available to everyone who chooses to benefit from them.

*** Studio Equipment ***
Photos of the grand piano, keyboards, sound system and computer software are posted with my students

*** Travel Equipment ***
ipad recording/lesson curriculum/students need instrument for practice

*** Specialties ***
piano, contemporary music
More

Reviews
June 2, 2019
Tom K.
For my first lesson, I found Catherine to be personable, encouraging, and highly skilled. She listened to my goals, assessed my present ability (I had tried to teach myself piano. I failed.) and worked through some exercises with me to improve my skills. I found the lesson challenging but not overwhelming. I'm looking forward to my next lesson with her.
February 14, 2013
Catherine B.
so much fun!

This teacher has a great time with her students as they learn keyboards, piano, theory, singing and basic skills on percussion and woodwind instruments. She can show beginning guitarists the chords and strums, too. We perform with the teacher at different places for youth group events, recitals, even musical theater shows. I hope I keep learning music the rest of my life.

View Details

Catherine B.

Greenville, IL

(2)

Sherrine M.

(6)

Bgcheck Background Checked


About Sherrine

Sherrine specializes in contemporary pop/jazz/rock voice (all levels) and piano (beg-int). She also has extensive experience with Audition Prep for school entrances (middle/high school/college), competitions, and tv shows such as The Voice.

Sherrine is currently working as a professional musician in New York City. She holds a doctorate in Studio Music and Jazz (Vocal) from the University of Miami, a Masters degree in Jazz Studies from CSU Long Beach, and a Bachelor's degree in Jazz Studies from CSU Sacramento.

She has been a professor on faculty at several universities including Miami Dade College, Broward College, and Minnesota State University Moorhead. Sherrine has also worked extensively with younger students, teaching for several non-profit organizations including the Community Arts Program and the Guitars Over Guns Organiz

ation.
More

Reviews
October 7, 2019
Michelle
I have known Sherrine for almost a year, in which she taught me Jazz vocals. I have a classical background and knew nothing about jazz at the time. Sherrine took time to explain me all I needed to know and begin my studies as a jazz vocalist. I adore her and recommend her to anyone who is looking for a private instructor.
October 4, 2019
Dr. Marc-Andre
I don't think there is enough words in the english language to express my gratitude for Sherrine. I spent 2 years under sherrine's tutelage, and during that time the amount of growth I experienced as a vocalist was remarkable. Sherrine is warm, inviting, and very focus on helping her students reach new heights during each lesson. I highly recommend Sherrine.
October 2, 2019
Amelia D
Ms. Sherrine has really helped me with my confidence as well as vocals. She is a pretty relaxed teacher and is welcoming to you. When I first started taking lessons with Ms. Sherrine I was very shy and tensed up all the time. But she helped me relax and loosen up a bit. And whenever I have lessons with her she made me fall in love with music all over again. She always made lessons fun while teaching me many new things.

View Details

Bgcheck-lg
Sherrine M.

Online

(6)
About Kyle

Hi! My name is Kyle. I am currently a music education major at Penn State University with an emphasis in strings. I have played the flute for 10+ years and the bass for 7+ years. I have experience teaching students pre-k-12.

I have a unique approach to teaching music. I am a student-centered teacher. I treat my lessons and classes in a way that promotes student involvement.

I have knowledge of music theory, history, and music pedagogy. I have expansive knowledge of flute and bass repertoire. I also have a lot of playing experience in many settings. Settings include churches, pit orchestras, solo recitals, and ensembles.

Please check out my website, kylesiskron.weebly.com for a more expansive bio and experience list.

***I can provide a PA State background check, FBI background check, and child abuse clearances***

More

View Details

Kyle S.

Online

Kwame S.

Belleville, IL 62221

(3)

Bgcheck Background Checked


About Kwame

Hello, my name is Kwame. I have been a musician for over twenty years. I started out in music when I was in grade school and have continued my musical journey throughout my adulthood. I have five years of experience teaching a wide range of age groups. Adjacent to being a musician, I am also a singer and songwriter. I have been involved with many of local and semi-professional bands in the surrounding area and perform from time to time as a solo artist or with a group. My mission as a musical teacher is to preserve the art of making music and pass it down as it was taught to me. I feel music is a very necessary element that makes the world go round!

More

Reviews
January 20, 2019
Deanna
I was very pleased with my lessons. I learned a lot and Kwame was very patient and helpful. I like the progression of the lessons and feel like at this rate I will be where I want to be vocally in no time at all.
January 20, 2019
Isabelle
Kwame is a great instructor!! He is knowledgeable about the craft he teaches and is great at explaining things in a comprehensible manner. My daughter is young, and his teaching method provided her with the skills and confidence to learn you how play. She went from not liking to play as much to not being able to stay away from a piano.
January 13, 2019
Antonio
Kwame is super nice and easy to work with

View Details

Bgcheck-lg
Kwame S.

Belleville, IL

(3)

Sterling S.

(3)

Bgcheck Background Checked


About Sterling

Sterling is a professional steel pan player from the islands of Trinidad & Tobago was born in a family of musician and steel pan manufacturers, whom we call the tuners in our country. From the day his uncle Oscar Haynes took him to the pan yard at eight years old, he fell madly in love with the instrument- the steel pan. By the age of 11 years, he was already playing songs from just hearing them. While all the other boys were playing soccer and partying, Sterling was finding old steel-drums that were discarded by his Uncle Birth Morris. Fixing and tuning the drums, and arranging Christmas songs for himself and his cousins to play.

Sterling started playing for the folks in the neighborhood in exchange for a tip of a dollar or a quarter. It was then that he realized that he was gifted with the talent to teach and play this lovely inst

rument. Sterling joined his family band, the Windside steel orchestra, comprised of his cousins and uncle where he learnt to play all the folk songs of the West Indies like yellow bird and island in the sun just to name a few. He also spent three years with the Amoco Renegades steel orchestra from 1978 to 1980. He later joined a most prestigious band, the W.I.T.C.O Desperadoes steel orchestra, known as the finest steel orchestra in the world.

He toured with the band for a decade, which included trips to England, the U.S.A which including two trips to Carnegie Hall and to other West Indian Islands. During his time with the band, they won five national championships. he was elected vice captain of the band two years before he migrated to the U.S.A in 1992, where he continued playing and teaching with the New York chapter of Desperadoes steel orchestra. Sterling was very instrumental as drill master in leading this band to a record six straight West Indian day/labor day/ pan competitions victories. after hearing the call of God in his life sterling left steel-drums competition. and formed his own company to play and teach the steel drums....he is a professional entertainer and has created a steel pan app for students worldwide
More

Reviews
October 10, 2019
Wanda
I have been taking lessons with Sterling and it has been a great learning experience as well as a great learning atmosphere. I was skeptical at first trying to learn online, but after having some classes with him, my concerns have been erased and now I am actually learning to play the steel pan. Great teacher, patient and kind.
October 3, 2019
Sara D.
Sterling is great!! I am so glad I found this site as there is no one in my small Canadian city that plays steel drums or provides lessons. I love playing the steel drums!
February 6, 2019
Rueben
I feel honored to take lessons from someone who actually played for many years with one of the top steelbands in Trinidad, WITCO Desperadoes. Since I was a beginner, Sterling started with the fundamentals such as identifying the notes on the tenor pan, proper posture, and "sticking" techniques. I progressed to learning and practicing scales, to identifying the Key Signature of a song. He is a patient, gifted musician, who loves sharing his passion for this beautiful instrument.

View Details

Bgcheck-lg
Sterling S.

Online

(3)
About daniel

I am an acoustic guitarist, song writer and musical director. Completed Uni. of Legon with a degree in BSc. Biological Science and 1.5years course in music at the Passion school of music. I am the founder and music director for a youth band called EOB. The band signed to villain record labels in 2017 and has been featured on great platforms. I have been able to train more 50 students, both beginners and intermediates. Through my experience as a teacher, i have developed a versatility and charisma to facilitate easy and conducive learning atmosphere.
Guitar players can expect to play within few weeks of effective training. I believe strongly in developing passion and understanding for the instrument than just playing. My students gain in-depth knowledge in musical theory as well as the right techniques for playing after each lesson.
Thr

ough out my career, I have featured great song writers such as Joe Mettle and usually write songs for young artists. I teach song writing to help beginners in the arrangement in their personal songs.
My personal passion is contemporary gospel music but teach great techniques which can be applied to all genre of music
More

View Details

daniel K.

Online

Showing 10 of 200+ results View More
How it works

Students love our teachers

The reviews are in. We've got the best in the business.

Music Reviews

George
"Honest, Funny, Passionate about music, Has Intergrity

At my age I thought I would never be able to have the voice I wanted. Denise has made learning to s
ing fun and exciting. With her help I now have a voice people would be willing to pay to hear. I even like hearing my own voice. She is tough when I need her to be and she won't let me settle for less than my best. She listens to my concerns and works with me to achieve my goals. She goes above and beyond as a teacher by researching and sharing new techniques to help overcome vocal issues. I would highly recommend her to anyone who is serious about music. Her passion for music is inspiring and contagious."
...
Karen
"I only have high accolades for David. I've learned more from David in the mere 5 lessons then I learned in a years worth of lessons in the past. His met
hod of teaching is perfect with the right amount of homework. He customizes the lesson for the type of music I ultimately want to play with a good balance of theory and practical lessons to get me there. Bravo!!!"
...
Margot
"Edward really worked with my kids, taking into account what they wanted to learn, and how they wanted to learn it. This was great, because one was more fo
cused on classical music, and the other on pop. He brought notes, and sent emails, and generally kept me very well updated on their progress. I would definitely recommend him as a teacher!"
...
Les
"She asked me what I wanted to learn and assisted me in a very patient way, and showed me the correct way of strumming and whatever else that was needed. A
very good start."
...
Ryder
"Denise is amazing!! So kind and patient and my kids really enjoyed it."
Vanessa Garcia
"Sweetest vocal trainer ever !! She makes you feel so comfortable from the very first day. She sings along with you and really takes time to work on the pr
oblem areas. Very welcoming as well. Makes the lessons so much fun :) definitely recommend!"
...
Jennifer
"Dora is a wonderful teacher! My six-year-old daughter has been taking lessons with her for a few months and I am amazed at her progress. Dora is a very pa
tient and enthusiastic teacher and my daughter cannot wait to go to lessons each week. In a few months Dora has taught her to read music and my daughter can play music that she knows, which is encouraging her even more. The home where Dora holds lessons is clean and bright and a good teaching environment. I have complete confidence in Dora and I recommend her very highly."
...
Jasmin
"William Beck is an amazing teacher. He's incredibly knowledgeable in his instruments, as well as patient and laid back with his students. He's made learni
ng guitar for me extremely fun and easy. I would recommend him to anybody that has a desire to learn music :)"
...
Shannon
"I was horrible and he waa very patient and detailed during our lessons. I am making great strides rapidly thanks to him!"

New Student Special:
Get Started Today and Save!

Up To $165 off

Shop the Sale

Expires: October 19th. Select teachers only.

How it works

How It Works

Ready to learn music? There's nothing to stop you! Connecting with the best teachers is easy, convenient and fun.

Icon-match

1. Match

We'll help you find the perfect music teacher.

Icon-meet

2. Meet

Book your lesson package, connect in person or online.

Icon-master

3. Master

Learning opens doors to a new world. Start your journey!

Play-button
Online Learning

LESS TIME IN TRAFFIC.

MORE TIME TO LEARN.

Most Aviston teachers offer online lessons. Relax and focus on learning.

The value of a lifetime

45
min
  • $0
  • $100
  • $200
  • $300
  • $400

Average cost of online music lessons: $50

Start Your Search

Actual cost depends on location, teacher and lesson packages.

Popular Music Articles from our Blog

What Are the Best Songs to Sing for an Audition?

By Suzy S.

Many of us have seen it happen while watching singing competition shows like The Voice, American Idol, or The X Factor— “Your voice is incredible, but the song choice was all wrong.”  It usually ends with an elimination, especially if it's a consistent pattern.  You might love a certain genre of music, but knowing whether a song is a good fit for your voice and audition is critical. Like many things, success is dependent on knowing your strengths and showcasing them.  So what are the b …

More

Student Groups